Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

tranny temp gage install

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by MEPR, Feb 22, 2005.

  1. MEPR

    MEPR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Posts:
    1,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    McChord AFB
    Alrighty whats the easiest way to hook one of these bad boys up? The directions say i have to drill a hole in the oil pan. Arent there some plugs i can take out and put the sender in?:confused:
     
  2. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    The sender needs to be in the tranny pan reading the temp of the fluid that is about to go through the tranny, not fluid that is moving under pressure.
     
  3. flatline

    flatline 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Posts:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio (area)
    Thanks I needed to know this also! Looks like I am tapping the pan too!
     
  4. pvfjr

    pvfjr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Posts:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakridge, OR
    alrighty thanks. Looks like my dad and i will be brazing that in when i get my 3/4tons.:cool1:

    sorry that was me (mepr) again, i should stop stealing pvfjrs computer huh...:blush:
     
  5. veris

    veris Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Posts:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Well if your not looking for the most "accurate" reading of the temp. Autometer makes manifolds that you can connect up to your oil sending line, to the radiator. I did this on one of my cars, and it seems to do a good job of telling me when things are getting hot, and it was an easy install.
     
  6. kyser_soze

    kyser_soze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    3,180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC Missouri
    What type of tranny? In my 4l60e there was already a sensor boss that had a tapped plug in it. All that I had to do was take out the plug and screw in the sensor!
     
  7. short sub

    short sub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sealy Texas
    i am running an autometer mechanical tranny temp gauge, it is exactly like a water temp. gauge except ,or course, that it is threaded in the tranny pan. from what weve noticed it is sometimes hard to get the electrical sender to ground in the pan and doesnt always work right. just a suggestion lata
     
  8. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    Dude, make up your mind, is it mechanical or electrical? If there are no wires that attach to a separate sender then it is mechanical, if the sender is separate then it is electrical.

    Mechanical gauges use capillary tubes that are one piece with the gauge and the sensor portion of the assembly and does not require a ground to make them work unlike electrical gauges.
     
  9. B_to_C

    B_to_C 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Posts:
    1,861
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    In Government Housing
    Dude, I think his suggestion was to use a mechanical guage like he has because he has noticed electrical ones don't always ground well :dunno:
     

Share This Page