Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Trans and T-case question

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Mr.Chevy4x4, Aug 14, 2001.

  1. Mr.Chevy4x4

    Mr.Chevy4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2000
    Posts:
    1,932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sims, NC
    I am considering swapping my 700r4 for a T400 that I have. My question is what am I going to have to do to make the NP208 work with the 400? Thanks in advance for any help.

    '85 K5 : Run it til it breaks, then fix it and go again!
     
  2. u2slow

    u2slow 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC Canada
    You need a 27-spline input gear for the 208. The TH400 uses a 32-spline. You also need the correct factory adapter. The TH400 is 6-bolt - the TH700 is 4-bolt.
     
  3. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Too bad you're so far away--I know where a '208 for a TH 400 is right now for $250-300

    Tim
    '84 Chevy K10, lifted, loud, fast, and 3/4 ton axles
     
  4. Mr.Chevy4x4

    Mr.Chevy4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2000
    Posts:
    1,932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sims, NC
    I wonder how much shipping would be on something like that??????

    '85 K5 : Run it til it breaks, then fix it and go again!
     
  5. Oblin Goblin

    Oblin Goblin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2000
    Posts:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    84_Chevy_K10,
    Where is this 208 for a TH 400? A 208 for a th 400 will bolt up right behind a nv4500, which is what I'm looking to install. Other wise i gotta have the case torn down to put in a new input gear.

    By the way there shouldn't be any adapters to the transfercase when you switch from a th 700 to a th 400. I think they're both 6 bolt mounts. Mine is at least and its an '84.
     

Share This Page