Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

transfer case id

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by rajincajingt, Nov 13, 2005.

  1. rajincajingt

    rajincajingt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    baton rouge
    hey guys,

    i just got a jeep with some k5 running gear...

    305, turbo 350 and a transfercase with the stamping c-99404.

    any ideas on what kinda transfer case it might be?


    it has a fixed output and 10 spline front output shaft...ask me how i know, its in two peices!!!

    thanks for the info,

    matt

    i searched and it looks to be a 205 or 203 or 208???

    any distinction?
     
  2. rajincajingt

    rajincajingt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    baton rouge
    Name this transfercase
    [​IMG]

    Here is the carnage from the first run. This was an attempt to cross the logs.

    [​IMG]

    The transfercase has a ten spline front output shaft for sure. We know that because we have parts of it that are real handy. :grin:
     
  3. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,546
    Likes Received:
    542
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    205:haha: :D the vary good 205 case. and the proper tag should be on the front side by the shift rails. . comon 205 problem with the small 10 spline frt output shaft.

    in the arrow pic thats the slip yoke setup. not the tcase shaft. . got pics of the front of the case? if so postem up to see what you have.
     
  4. 6.2puller

    6.2puller 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Posts:
    569
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    What da heck were you doing to break that? A 305 to an auto with the weight of a jeep and you broke even the little 10 spline 205 is amazing. Looks like the shaft is brocken also? Did it break first and then the spinning stub break the output? What size tires are those, 36s and bald :confused:
     
  5. rajincajingt

    rajincajingt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    baton rouge
    i dropped the whole rig on a downed tree about 34" high,

    the driveshaft and the output shaft both broke at the same time.

    i have upgraded to a 32 spline output and look to try it again soon

    that pic is bald 33's
     

Share This Page