Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Transfer case options for a 700R4

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by yunit, Jan 18, 2002.

  1. yunit

    yunit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    3,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakland, NJ
    What other transfer case will bolt up to the 700R4? I want to get rid of the slip yoke and the chain drive. Will a 205 bolt up to my 700? Thanks, Pete.

    1987 Jimmy Sierra Classic, Palisades Park, NJ 07650
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/yunit>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/yunit</a>
     
  2. Leadfoot

    Leadfoot 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2000
    Posts:
    3,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Western Massachusetts
    It will if your 205 is one from behind a TH350 (27 spline). You will either have to replace your output shaft in the 700r4 (which requires a complete teardown) or use a spacer. Because the 700r has such a kickout on the passenger's side, I would use the spacer. I went the new output shaft route and had to modify my tranny pan to keep the front stock driveshaft from hitting (forget about a 1 ton unit). I am going to go to the Ford 32 spline output and different yoke setup, when I complete it (probably won't be for another month or two) I will let you know if I have any more clearance. Jesse and I discussed using a 1410 driveshaft (no CV) since I only have a 4" lift. I will let you know how it goes.

    See my rig at <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Leadfoot> click here </a>
     
  3. Ryeguy

    Ryeguy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Posts:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Victoria, B.C.
    *grin* You could just go TH700R4/spacer/NP203/NP205 right away. Easy as pie to find a 27 spline input NP203.

    --Rob
     
  4. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Which is kinda like what I am trying to do, right? T350/203/205.............correct?

    <font color=blue>'79 ONE TON TPI K5 - See it at---&gt;<a target="_blank" href=http://www.blazzinor.rockcrawler.com/>BlazzinOR's Beast Buildup</a>
     
  5. Ryeguy

    Ryeguy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Posts:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Victoria, B.C.
    I guess.

    With the 700R4, you'll need a spacer between the trans and NP203. Or a very expen$ive custom output shaft from A/A.
    With the TH350, you won't.

    The transmissions look the same from the rear, 'cept on the 700, the output shaft sticks out another ~1.5 inches or so.

    --Rob
     
  6. TorkDSR

    TorkDSR 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    1,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    bucks co pa
    i dont know much about a spacer, but i got the output shaft, i think it was 90$$ i think, then i got my tranny gu to put it in for 100 and he re-did most of my seals. so far so good[​IMG]

    beligerence doesn't justify intelligence.
    <font color=blue>wheelers hate posers.</font color=blue>
    <font color=red>79k15/400/700r4/205/38.5</font color=red>
     

Share This Page