Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Transfer case problems

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by no_3of4, Nov 16, 2006.

1. no_3of4

no_3of4 Newbie

Hello all, I am new to this but I have a 86 k-5 blazer. It has a np 208 in it and 78 350. I dont know much about the transfer case part of the vehicle. But when in 2 wheel it runs fine but if i engage 4hi and lock the hubs it pops under the body, sounds like the case, but not sure. In 4 lo it really make a noise w/o even engaging the hubs. Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks..
    no_3of4

2. randy88k5

randy88k5 1/2 ton status

Is the truck moving while you shift, or do you shift at a complete stop?

Does the noise only happen when you turn hard?

3. no_3of4

no_3of4 Newbie

I am at a complete stop when i change. It is is smooth switching between 2 and 4 but when in 4 wheel it makes noise. If i am in 4 hi and try to climb it gets worse. almost like the chain is slipping? I dont know if there is a linkage adjustment that may be out? but as far as turning it is fine.

4. Chaddy

Chaddy 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

I bet your chain is slipping....Time to open the case and rebuild

5. colbystephens

colbystephens 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

as a quick check before you pull the case, make sure you check your u-joints. probably not the issue... but just in case. it's a lot cheaper/easier! i don't remember if the driveshaft for the front axle has a ujoint at the t-case - if it does, that'd be the first place i'd check.

6. diesel4me

diesel4me 1 ton status Premium Member

check the ratios of both axles..