Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Transfer Case Question

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Neko H, Jun 1, 2000.

1. Neko H

Neko H Registered Member

First off this is GREAT !!! I just got my 79 Jimmy and what a gold mine of information. I'm looking forward to keeping up with the posts and getting to know some of you.

Ok now for the question (remember I'm a newbie this is my first 4x4, so you diehard's keep down the chuckles ... OK).
    The 79 has full time 4 wheel drive my transfer has Low Loc, Low, Neutral, High & High Loc. I read that for regular driving it should be run in High .... right? And the Auto tranny should be in neutral when changing the transfer case ..... right? However I seem to only have Low, Neutral, and High there does not appear to be a Low Loc or High Loc available. Do you think it just needs adjusting? And is this a royal pain in the butt or easly done? Any insight would be greatly apperciated on this matter.
    Can it be converted so that it is not 4 wheel all the time cheap and easy (have a wife and three daughters so hence the cheap & easy .... not a lot of money or time).

Neko H
    79 GMC Jimmy 4x4
    (If I'd only win the Lottery, it would be Cherry)

2. Blazer79

Blazer79 1/2 ton status