Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

transfer case removal

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 1975k5, Nov 25, 2001.

1. 1975k5

1975k5 Registered Member

I have a 75 Blazer with a 350/350/203 combo. The transmission is leaking fluid where the transfer case and the tranny meet. Can I remove the transfer case and leave the tranny in the blazer or do I need to drop the entire assembly? Also, is this seal difficult to replace? Does this project go into the "leave it to the pros" category?

Many thanks.

Tom

2. zakk

zakk 1/2 ton status

if it is the gasket on the adapter, it is no problem. the problem will be getting down that tranfer case. I used a tranny jack and it was still pretty difficult. but i am a newbie to wrenching on trannys...

-Zakk
    '77 K5 SB 400 TH350 NP203 p/t 6" Lift D60 14BFF 4.10's 36"Wrangler II's

[​IMG] CK5's MOAB 2002 OR BUST!! [​IMG]

3. TheGeneral

TheGeneral 1/2 ton status

First, is it leaking at the transmission to adapter seal, or adapter to transfer case seal? This makes a big difference in the amount of work. If it is between the trans and adapter, you can unbolt the trans from the adapter and pull case back far enough to clean and get new seal (don't forget shaft disconnect and probably tranfer case linkage and wire). If it is in between case and adapter, you will have to do same as above and then unbolt adapter from case and then clean and replace seal. The 203 is a Bit(*& in regard to weight so use good jack and I after last episode I had, I would make a mount to put in jack to cradle the dam thing. All in all, plan on 4 - 6 hours for this and have an assistant. Just my 2 cents worth from average weekend mech.

If you ain't hurt, you ain't playin' hard enough.

The General

4. jimmyjack

jimmyjack 1/2 ton status