Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Transfercase torque mount

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Rusty68, Jan 29, 2003.

  1. Rusty68

    Rusty68 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Posts:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Elko, Nevada
    I am running a th475/205 combo. Originaly my truck was a 4 speed and had this bracket off the side of the frame mounted to the side of the 205 with 2 bolts. Well my new 205 doesnt have holes for this bracket drilled in it. Should I put them in and use it or what?
     
  2. Steve_Chin

    Steve_Chin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2001
    Posts:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Foster City, CA, USA
    Are you sure this is an NP205 that was destined for use in a GM vehicle? I have not seen any GM NP205s that didn't have the boss and holes for the transfer case mount.
     
  3. u2slow

    u2slow 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC Canada
    I had my hands on a 205 from a 93 Dodge diesel... it didn't have the holes drilled. Its possible GM stopped drilling them too at some point. I haven't seen that bracket on anything built since the mid-70's.
     
  4. TED

    TED Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Posts:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Is the bracket really necessary then if it hasn't been used on anything since the mid-70's?
     
  5. 70~K5

    70~K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,032
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sillycon valley
    Well maybe it is. 1FNHIK5 didn't have his back on the truck at BlazerFest 3 And the back of his TH350 broke in half from torque. Of course he had a ramjet 502 up front. But his trans guy said that the lack of the torque mount caused it. /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif
     
  6. Triaged

    Triaged 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Posts:
    3,808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA (LA/OC area)
    In the mid 70's after GM went away from the frame mount was when they introduced the link that went from those same 2 holes to the front of the tranny. I think this was also when they introduced the "K" case tranny (but could be wrong).
     
  7. Rusty68

    Rusty68 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Posts:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Elko, Nevada
    I guess I may as well drill the holes then. I have the bracket, so it wont cost anything but time
     

Share This Page