Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

transmission question

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by chevytruck75guy, Mar 16, 2003.

1. chevytruck75guy

chevytruck75guy Registered Member

hey,
    i am new to the board and building 4x4's(only 17 years old). my 1975 k10 has a bad turbo350 in it. i was looking threw the trading post for a new one so a guy at my work can rebuild it and noticed alot were sayin that it was a short or a long shaft. what exactly dose that mean? one other thing, i can take a 2wd tanny take off the end shaft and put it in my 4x4. right? sorry it the questions sound dum but i am still learning about these things.
    thanks /forums/images/graemlins/truck.gif

2. Z3PR

Z3PR Banned

First of all, welcome to CK5. Pleasee take a momment to fill out your profile. It'll help us help you. Who knows, there might be someone in your area with a tranny for sale. If you have someone that builds trannys, maybe you should have him just rebuild the one you already have.

3. BlaznRebel

BlaznRebel 1/2 ton status

ok first off welcome. secondly the short and long shaft are for the tail shaft of the tranny(part the drive shaft yoke slips over. thirdly i am not positive on this but i don't believe that you can use a 2x tranny in a 4x ok hope this helps. also like Z3PR said just rebuild the one you have its a good tranny to build cheap.

4. BadDog

BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author