Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

transmission swap/ slight predicament

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by redk5, Jul 11, 2003.

  1. redk5

    redk5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sequim WA
    I am in the process of swapping out my 350/th350 into a jeep, and rebuilding a 402 bb to take the engines place,
    i am definitely going to ad a 400 tranny, but would like to keep the 203 tcase so that when my wallet recovers from this project i can add the 203/205 doubler. my only problem is finding a 400 transmission for a reasonable price, after searching wrecking yards around the country, i found a 400 with a 350 output shaft 27 spline conversion, which appears to be what i need, however i believe i need to get a hold of a new adapter PLATE/mount. any suggestions?
     
  2. boz42

    boz42 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Posts:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hopewell, Tn 38058
    i have never heard of a t-400 w/ 27 spline output. if that is what u got u can run your t-350 version 203. either way u will need a adapter to mate it to a 400. as u probably already know the t-400 has 6 bolts on the tail & the 350 only has 4.

    i pm'd u
     
  3. Calclips

    Calclips 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Posts:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Swartz Creek, Michigan/Flint while in school
    I'm not sure on what exactly is required for a doubler, seeing as I don't have one, but I think that you may want to find a TH400 with a 205 on it... then you can keep your existing 203 and you will have both of the transfer cases that you need to do your doubler. Somebody here will eventually chime in and let you know exactly what input and output shafts you need... or you could head over to the ORD website and get all the info that you need.

    Welcome to CK5... please fill out your profile, you never know if one of us is right around the corner with the parts you need...
     
  4. boz42

    boz42 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Posts:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hopewell, Tn 38058
    u need a t-400 version 205 for the doubler. it does not care what kind of 203 or tranny is in frt of it. if u do get a t-400 &205 combo u will still need a t-400 version 203

    t-400 are 32 spline
    t-350 are 27 spline
     
  5. redk5

    redk5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sequim WA
    if you could send me a pic of that adapter for the t-400 to the 203 that'd be great, i did buy that transmission, id has a t-350 conversion output shaft. however i believe it is a lockup converter model becuause if the connection on the side, do you know where i could get this adapter? any other comments you have? thanks
     

Share This Page