Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Transmission troubles

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by loudandproud, Feb 3, 2001.

  1. loudandproud

    loudandproud 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Posts:
    451
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ham Lake, Minnesota
    My transmission seems to be having troubles, at least I think its the tranny. I have a 700r4. When I accelerate I don't seem to have any power when I hit 2nd gear or as much as I use to. It works fine in first but when it shifts into 2nd my engine seems to rev higher then normal and I don't seem to be going anywhere any faster, it seems like my engine has to rev higher just to get me going. It works fine in the rest of the gears though, just seems to be 2nd. If this makes any sense to anyone please help. Thanks

    DOOH!![​IMG]<A target="_blank" HREF=http://loudandproud.coloradok5.com>http://loudandproud.coloradok5.com</A>
     
  2. loudandproud

    loudandproud 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Posts:
    451
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ham Lake, Minnesota
    up...

    DOOH!![​IMG]<A target="_blank" HREF=http://loudandproud.coloradok5.com>http://loudandproud.coloradok5.com</A>
     
  3. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Have you messed with the Carb? try readjusting your TV linkage and check the modulator (the vacum dohicky at the back of the tranny). If it has fluid coming out the vac connection it's toast and needs to be replaced. If it all looks good then do a presure test. If the pressure is right then the clutches on #2 have died. If the presure is down then it has blown the seals and probably the clutches are also gone.

    Diging it in the dirt with my K5's
    Grim-Reaper
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://grimsk5s.coloradok5.com/>http://grimsk5s.coloradok5.com/</A>
     
  4. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    I believe thats the second gear band on the 700. They had some problems with them. There is a Corvette servo that is supposed to really firm up the 1-2 shift. BTW, the 700 has no vacuum modulator : )



    Dorian
    My K5 and Chev/Olds tech/links page: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</A>
     
  5. redbeast

    redbeast Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2000
    Posts:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Marcos Texas
    Dyeager535 took the words right out of my mouth!!!!!! I agree with him completly. You might try to adjust the tv cable a little tighter (push it in towards the the firewall ) and see if it helps... Good luck&gt;&gt;&gt;
     
  6. ragtop

    ragtop Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2001
    Posts:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ten Mile, TN
    A year ago I was told by a good Trans man that it was my 2nd gear band and that it was called "freewheeling". He rebuilt it a month ago, again said that was the problem, along with everything else showing 120,000 miles of wear, and it now chirps the tires on the 1-2 shift with anything over 1/2 throttle.

    Ragtop - '88K5
    Never thought I'd give up Camaros but, the '96 Z has been parked for a year!
     

Share This Page