Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Trany swap?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by NoReGrEtS, Nov 30, 2005.

  1. NoReGrEtS

    NoReGrEtS 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Posts:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Moreno Valley,SO CAL
    I have a 81 k5 with 33000 1,2,3 hundred thou dont know it was given to me ya free, cant beat that, but it has 465 trany it needs a cluch but is it worth keeping? Im sure I can find a turbo 350 for almost as much as a cluch but what would it take to swap them out?and is it worth the change?I want to drive it drive it on trips and off round the piss out of it. I want to lift it 6in every one tells me to do 4in any problems between the two? I want 35s. what would you guys recamend?


    Thanks
    Shawn
    Trucks ,sex and no regrets :k5:
     
  2. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,030
    Likes Received:
    365
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    keep the 465... I'd rather have it than any th350.

    j
     
  3. stayaway

    stayaway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Posts:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    georgia
    I also would just keep the 465
     
  4. darenofears

    darenofears Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    sm465is very nearly indestructible doing almost anything

    Its worth keeping and a new clutch
     
  5. francis

    francis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Posts:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    kemp, texas
    it depends on what you want to do. if your crawling or mudding go auto but dont use a 350 use a 400 it's much stronger. to do the swap you need a flywheel, cooler lines, and a cooler, and i think you'll need a throttle pressure cable setup. the benefits of automatic vs std are you don't have to shift but like the other guy said the std is almost unditructible. but do what ever you want. i cant help it i'm biased toward automatics.
     

Share This Page