Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

truck stalls out when coming to stop

Discussion in '1983-2005 S-Series models' started by bryguy00b, Nov 21, 2003.

  1. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    when ever i slow down or try and come to a stop the thing wants to die out..vacume leak? ideas?? 87 2wd 2.5/4spd ...it also idels kinda funny and when i rev it and let it back down kinda fast it will putter out..or almsot and then come back..and what is the fuel suppost to look like coming out of the injector? is it suppost to be misty..or what? on mine it looks kinda misty type spraying..any ideas?
     
  2. kennyw

    kennyw N9PHW Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Posts:
    13,223
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Stevens Pass Highway, WA
    The injectors should spray an even mist in a cone pattern. Do you get any trouble codes? You should be able to check them by inserting a paper clip between a couple terminals on the under dash connector but I forget which two off the top of my head.
     
  3. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    [ QUOTE ]
    You should be able to check them by inserting a paper clip between a couple terminals on the under dash connector but I forget which two off the top of my head.

    [/ QUOTE ] it is the last 2 on the top row
     
  4. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    i suspect its the idel air control valve..so im ganna go ahead and try that..but ill try the codes to and see what she says..
     
  5. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    replaced IAC..runs better..but didnt improve it enough to make me think thats the problem..still stalls when coming to a stop sometimes...so i ran the codes..the only one i get was 24..which is vehicle speed sensor, and the only thing it tells me to do for this is check the throttle position sensor settings. would any of these have anything to do with my problem??? /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif
     
  6. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    ttt /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  7. Confedneck

    Confedneck 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lehigh Acres, Florida
    put a tps on it, throttle postion sensor, our 99 had the same problem, stalling when coming to a stop, because the throttle position sensor was out of range...
     
  8. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    i guess..i just orderd a vss for it so well try that...guess the tps would be the next thing to look at..
     
  9. Confedneck

    Confedneck 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lehigh Acres, Florida
    tps is what the problem is...almost 100% guaranteed...check voltage with key on engine off at the tps, at idle, or closed you should have .4-.6 volts, and at wide open throttle it should be 4.5-4.8 or so..
     
  10. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    and if its NOT at the right volts thats the problem!?
     
  11. Confedneck

    Confedneck 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lehigh Acres, Florida
    correct, if you're way off, its time for a tps.. let me know what your voltages are when you find out and ill let you know for sure..
     
  12. Confedneck

    Confedneck 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lehigh Acres, Florida
    well? any update???
     
  13. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    havnt even gotten around to checking it yet /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif been fixin chit on my k-10 and my dads gatat bring home a voltmeter..
     
  14. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    how exactly do i check it ive never used one of these things befor?
     
  15. Confedneck

    Confedneck 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lehigh Acres, Florida
    set it to the direct voltage setting (the V with straight lines over it, one solid, one dashed)..now turn the truck on, key on engine off (koeo), probe the back side of the tps connector and check the black (ground) and the other wires...one should read about .4-.6..i forget which wire, but total there should be 3, including the ground..
     
  16. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    ok thanx ill check that today..
     
  17. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    well when i went to go check it..i pulled it of..and discoverd there were no screws holding it in! the two mounting screws just werent there at all lol..and im assuming its on the front of the throttle body with the small 3 wire connector that goes to it correct!?...im ganna find a couple screws to fit that and put it in right and try it again, and see what happens, the battery wasnt in it and im not sure wear my dad put it so i couldnt check the volts..
     
  18. Confedneck

    Confedneck 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lehigh Acres, Florida
    yeah, that tps should be slightly adjustable as well so the fact that it wasnt secured is a problem..i say install some bolts and get a battery in it, i bet its fine..
     
  19. civicstomper

    civicstomper 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    That sounds similar to the problems I was having with my truck. I got codes 33, 34, and 45, and I fixed all of those problems. Still, it stalls out every once in a while when I try and give it gas. If you have any luck could you let me know what you did to fix it? I'm running out of ideas. Sorry to change the subject, just sounded a lot like my truck.
    -pete /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif /forums/images/graemlins/truck.gif /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif
     
  20. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    well took the thing to school, ran a test on it (snanner), tps and all that checks out ok, only code i get is for "no vehicle speed sensor signal"..could this cause whats happeneing??
     

Share This Page