Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

truck wont start... wierd

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 85burbanator, Jan 12, 2005.

  1. 85burbanator

    85burbanator 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Posts:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lake orion, mi
    i did tune up on my suburban the other day and now it wont start. its an 85 with the hei and all that jazz. i replaced the cap, rotor, plugs and wires. it ran before the tune up and now after it wont even kick over. i removed all the plugs and they were washed with gas. when i removed the number 7 plug alot of fuel came out. we dried the plugs off and re-installed and still nothing. its getting fuel and spark but its just not starting. its really odd. im almost gunna give up on this thing. any ideas that i can use to possibly get this thing to start. im going to take the plugs back and exchange them for new ones. the firing order is correct. i just cant for the life of me think about what it is. and i know its prolly something stupid.
     
  2. 1979jimmy350

    1979jimmy350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    3,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ann Arbor Mi
    did you replace the coil?
     
  3. 85burbanator

    85burbanator 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Posts:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lake orion, mi
    the coil was replaced last time i did a tune up. when checking for spark i seen that the spark was a blueish color. its an accel coil from auto zone. it has spark and fuel but just wont fire for some reason.
     
  4. Ryan B.

    Ryan B. 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Posts:
    5,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    you say its getting a lot of fuel and it was dumping out of the spark plug hole when you took one out eh? thats not good..

    Try holding the gas pedal to the floor while you crank it... :D
     
  5. big pappa b

    big pappa b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Posts:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Falcon, Colorado
    You say it won't "kick" over? Does the motor spin and just won't fire?
     
  6. Wraparound

    Wraparound Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2000
    Posts:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Obvious suggestion but did you check the timing?
     
  7. 85burbanator

    85burbanator 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Posts:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lake orion, mi
    havent checked timing yet. thats what i think it might be. the distibuter was a little loose and i didnt find out till after i accidently moved it. i had my boss crank it over while i slowly turned the distributer and nothing happend. the cam is turning, we took the cap off to check if the rotor was turning and it was. we also tried holding the gas pedal to the floor. what would cause just one cylender to fill up with gas like that. it was only #7 and as soon as i pulled the plug from the hole it pour out. it had a slight miss to it which is why i did the tune up.

    big pappa b- the motor is turning just not firing.
     
  8. big pappa b

    big pappa b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Posts:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Falcon, Colorado
    If you had that much gas come out you may want to check your oil. If there is enough gas that got by the rings into the oil pan it could make for a nice BOOM!!:eek:
     
  9. g_mo

    g_mo 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    tx
    are you sure you didn't get any wires crossed? might wanna double check.
     
  10. 85burbanator

    85burbanator 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Posts:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lake orion, mi
    ill deffinatly check the oil. didnt really think about it yesterday.

    g mo- this is the wierd part. i put the wires on the same way i took them off. didnt start. then i printed the firing order of the computer at work and it was different. so i put the wires how the print off showed. still nothing.

    its really angering me. im about to give up on it.
     
  11. 70jimmy

    70jimmy 3/4 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2000
    Posts:
    5,962
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Released from Pueblo, told I belong in Southpark
    Good suggestions on timing and definately oil for fuel presence.

    Most SBC's finring order is 1,8,4,3,6,5,7,2

    doubtful yours is any different. I did have a motor that #1 on the cap wasn't where #1 is typically at and was told it had something to do with having the motor redone? Caused problems similar to what you are talking about until I confirmed #1's location. I am sure somebody else on here can explain how to do that better than I can. I remember turning the motor with #1 plug out until piston got to top of stroke and then seeing where the rotor was pointed.

    Good luck.
     
  12. g_mo

    g_mo 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Posts:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    tx
    Pull #1 Plug. Put You Finger Over The Hole. Have Someone Bump It Over Until It Blows Your Finger Off The Hole. Should Be At Tdc At That Point. Point Rotor At #1 Cyl. Remove Dist., Use A Long Flat Blade Scewdriver To Turn The Oil Pump Shaft. That Will Change The Location That The Rotor Points To.
     
  13. pvfjr

    pvfjr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Posts:
    2,425
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakridge, OR
    Make sure you're "numbering" your cylinders correctly too.
    [​IMG]
     
  14. 85burbanator

    85burbanator 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Posts:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lake orion, mi
    that looks like it came from all data. good program. we used that for a while till the boss went cheap and got some mitchel program that sucks. ill tow it to work tomorow and well set the timing from square one.
     
  15. scrappyk5

    scrappyk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Posts:
    2,099
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    virginia
    if your vehicle didnt start and you over flooded it ,even though you pulled the plugs to dry out , they might now be fouled. try new plugs
     

Share This Page