Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Truck's Idle "Jacked Up" after EGR Swap

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Corey-88K5, Feb 27, 2001.

  1. Corey-88K5

    Corey-88K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Home: Michigan, Stationed: Hill AFB (Home of Moab.
    Truck\'s Idle \"Jacked Up\" after EGR Swap

    I don't remember if the key was turned back (acc.) when I was replacing my EGR the other day. I unplugged all the wires in the area of the EGR to make it easier to get to the EGR & vac. seloniod. Now the truck Idles 500rpms over what it idled at prior. I did disconnect the Idle Seloniod. Does anybody have any ideas if this is why? The Chilton's manual sucks in this area when its describing how to reset the idle. Its also talking about a screw that doesn't exist on my TBI. Any help would be great. I can't believe I got aprox 440 miles on a tank of gas. I still had 1/16th when I refueled. I bet I could have gotten atleast 460 before really pushing it.

    Thanks,

    Corey
    88K5

    [​IMG]<font color=red>Girls Like Guys In Bow Ties
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.geocities.com/corey_perez>http://www.geocities.com/corey_perez</A>
     
  2. Kyle89K5

    Kyle89K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,273
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OKLAHOMA
    Re: Truck\'s Idle \"Jacked Up\" after EGR Swap

    Mine did something kinda similar when I replaced mine. I unhooked a bunch of stuff around it to get it out. I had to reset the 'puter by unhooking the battery, that helped some. I also jacked up the Throttle Positioning Sensor when I was unhooking stuff. Put a new one on and the idle started getting around normal. The final fix was just to rebuild the throttle body. Don't know why that would have nec. changed anything, but my idle went back to normal. The chiltons book is a POS for almost anything related to anything. I much prefer the Haynes manual.

    Kyle
    89K5
     
  3. Corey-88K5

    Corey-88K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Home: Michigan, Stationed: Hill AFB (Home of Moab.
    Re: Truck\'s Idle \"Jacked Up\" after EGR Swap

    I've used both manuals, and they all suck. But I'm considering taking it into a shop and having them reset it. Just pull up and say "can you set my idle to spec's?" and pay them before they do the work. So when the moron quotes me $10 labor because he thinks he just has to turn a screw, and is wrong, its his butt!.

    Corey
    88K5

    [​IMG]<font color=red>Girls Like Guys In Bow Ties
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.geocities.com/corey_perez>http://www.geocities.com/corey_perez</A>
     
  4. ftn96

    ftn96 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2000
    Posts:
    3,238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville Tn
    Re: Truck\'s Idle \"Jacked Up\" after EGR Swap

    After you replaced the EGR, did you disconnect the battery for a minute or 2 to let the computer reboot itself? If not, its probably still thinking that it has to tell the motor to over perform to comp for the clogged EGR which you dont have anymore, so its ahh, idling a little high.

    Will work for beer, parts and tools.
    90 Jimmy 350TBI-700R4-241-33" BFGs-10 bolts w/4.10's
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.nashvillek5.freeservers.com>http://www.nashvillek5.freeservers.com</A>
     
  5. Corey-88K5

    Corey-88K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Home: Michigan, Stationed: Hill AFB (Home of Moab.
    Re: Truck\'s Idle \"Jacked Up\" after EGR Swap

    After I get off the computer, I'll run down and disconnect the battery for a few minutes. I hope it works, but thanks even if it doesn't.

    Corey
    88K5

    [​IMG]<font color=red>Girls Like Guys In Bow Ties
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.geocities.com/corey_perez>http://www.geocities.com/corey_perez</A>
     
  6. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Re: Truck\'s Idle \"Jacked Up\" after EGR Swap

    What do you mean by "I did disconnect the Idle Seloniod"? An '88 would have an Idle Air Control (IAC) motor. If that is unplugged, then the computer can't adjust the idle speed. The IAC basically creates a "controlled leak" in the throttle body. It moves a pintle in and out to adjust how much air is going around the throttle blades, which in turn adjusts the idle speed. There's a stepper motor in the IAC that is driven by the computer. You have to have it connected or the computer can't adjust the idle speed. It will just stay at whatever position the IAC motor was at when you unplugged it.

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://ThunderTruck.ColoradoK5.com>http://ThunderTruck.ColoradoK5.com</A>
     
  7. lowlevell

    lowlevell 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Posts:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Ohio, USA
    Re: Truck\'s Idle \"Jacked Up\" after EGR Swap

    I think it is a combination of what ftn and HARRY said. Was there a bunch of goop in the egr port in the manifold? Also, i hate to say it but, are you sure the parts shop gave you the right EGR? I'm changing mine out this weekend do to the "pinging under load" problem. I hope mine goes a little smoother than yours.Good luck.Later....

    One From None
     
  8. blazen91

    blazen91 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2000
    Posts:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia, Ca 92345
    Re: Truck\'s Idle \"Jacked Up\" after EGR Swap

    OK--HELP! I changed my O2 and the idel is different now, also. I goes up and down andup and down etc., etc., ect. All I did is change it. I didn't unhook any thing else. Should I have and if so, what?

    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.blazen91.coloradok5.com>http://www.blazen91.coloradok5.com</A>
    Protect the land FOR the people
    Not FROM the people
     
  9. Waxer

    Waxer 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,857
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA.
    Re: Truck\'s Idle \"Jacked Up\" after EGR Swap

    blazer91: did you reset your computer? Anytime you change out a sensor, you must reset the computer. either pull off the battery cables or pull the computers fuse and crank the motor. Both will do the trick.
     
  10. blazen91

    blazen91 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2000
    Posts:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia, Ca 92345
    Re: Truck\'s Idle \"Jacked Up\" after EGR Swap

    No I didn't, but I guess I have something to do tomorrow!!!!!!
    Thank you.

    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.blazen91.coloradok5.com>http://www.blazen91.coloradok5.com</A>
    Protect the land FOR the people
    Not FROM the people
     
  11. ftn96

    ftn96 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2000
    Posts:
    3,238
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville Tn
    Re: Truck\'s Idle \"Jacked Up\" after EGR Swap

    YES!!! This is a most common occurance. You have to reboot the computer anytime you install new hardware dont you???? IT is the same with your vehicle. The computer will not know the new piece is there. Actually it will see the difference, but seems to not now how to reset itself. SO YOU MUST UNPLUG THE NEGATIVE TERMINAL FOR A GOOD 30 SECONDS. I PREFER TO DRINK A BEER, THEN RECONNECT IT.

    Will work for beer, parts and tools.
    90 Jimmy 350TBI-700R4-241-33" BFGs-10 bolts w/4.10's
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.nashvillek5.freeservers.com>http://www.nashvillek5.freeservers.com</A>
     
  12. Corey-88K5

    Corey-88K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Home: Michigan, Stationed: Hill AFB (Home of Moab.
    Re: Truck\'s Idle \"Jacked Up\" after EGR Swap

    I disconnected my batt's for a long time and it made no difference. I also replaced the O2 sensor quite some time ago and din't have to disconnect the batt. I'm just going to replace the throttle crap on the truck. Too much crap under the hood. Worst case I'll just drop on a carb! (NOT!)

    Corey
    88K5

    [​IMG]<font color=red>Girls Like Guys In Bow Ties
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.geocities.com/corey_perez>http://www.geocities.com/corey_perez</A>
     
  13. blazen91

    blazen91 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2000
    Posts:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hesperia, Ca 92345
    Re: Truck\'s Idle \"Jacked Up\" after EGR Swap

    OK, I did it for about 5 minutes(I ocupied doing something else!). It seemed to make a difference, but at the point during warm up that it goes from cold to almost warm, it seems like it wants to die, but then comes back up and idels fine. Any ideas?

    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.blazen91.coloradok5.com>http://www.blazen91.coloradok5.com</A>
    Protect the land FOR the people
    Not FROM the people
     

Share This Page