Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Truetrac in the front- How good or bad?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by bajaviking, Nov 28, 2005.

1. bajaviking

bajaviking 1/2 ton status

I came across a cheap truetrac that I was thinking about putting in the front diff. of my 10 bolt. How good or bad are they?

2. skidpan

skidpan 1/2 ton status

im kinda new to all of this, but i dont think any one here would reccomend any traction assist in a 10 bolt..

3. rcamacho

rcamacho 1/2 ton status

+

I ran one in a D44 front axle. The difference over an open diff off road was incredible and it had great manners compared to a locker. Provided you're not anticipating extreme usage, they are great differentials in my opinion.

4. chasone64

chasone64 Registered Member

I have a trac lok in my front 10 bolt. No problems "yet", just have to remember the right foot can't be too heavy!! :D

5. bajaviking

bajaviking 1/2 ton status

I currently have it welded which was not a problem before because I was mainly doing dirt and sand but lately I have been doing a lot of rocks and the steering sucks and I am getting tired of jumping in and out of the truck doing the old "unlocking/locking front hub routine". I am just trying to figure out if I should go with the truetrac or if I should throw a lockright in there. I run a welded 14 bolt in the rear which I am really happy with and I really like the traction of the welded front and I don't want to loose too much traction going to the truetrac but I also need to be able to steer.
    I only run 35"s and I have gotton pretty good and avoiding breakage now so I am not planning on going to Dana 60, cross over steering $$$$$..... anytime soon.

6. resurrected_jimmy

resurrected_jimmy 1/2 ton status