Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

try'd wiring it up????

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Disciples Performance, Jul 5, 2006.

  1. Disciples Performance

    Disciples Performance 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kelowna BC, Canada
    hey guys

    so i wired up my autometer 0 - 90 ohms Fuel Level Guage for my propane tank so i dont have to go outside all the time to see how much i have now it kinda works but its not even accurate i have 1/4 tank on the tank guage but on the autometer one it shows just above the E has anyone done another one of these there is only 2 wires on the guage power and ground so i dont know why this isnt working ????:confused:
     
  2. BulldogK5

    BulldogK5 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Posts:
    4,158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brandon, MS
    Bump for ya. Are you sure the tank gauge is accurate?
     
  3. Disciples Performance

    Disciples Performance 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kelowna BC, Canada
    im actually not to sure are they very accurate this is my first truck on propane ive owned so i dont really know how well the gauges are??
     
  4. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,059
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    I'm not entirely sure but i don't think you can use a conventional fuel guage sender with propane.
     
  5. Disciples Performance

    Disciples Performance 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kelowna BC, Canada
    well its an electric Fuel Level Guage by autometer 0 - 90 ohms i mean what other guage is there possibly?
     
  6. Avery4jc

    Avery4jc 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Posts:
    10,760
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Fresno, Ca.
    Maybe a guage off a propane tank? :confused: Why don't you just get another guage from where you get your bbq propane, tee a line off and run it over to the dash somewhere?

    -Avery
     
  7. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,621
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    Ummm, you need a 0 to 90 SENDING UNIT to work with that gauge.. You can't just hook it up and expect it to work without knowing what sending unit is in the propane tank...

    BTW, some punctuation would make your posts much easier to understand...
     
  8. Disciples Performance

    Disciples Performance 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kelowna BC, Canada
    ah i c well how will i be able to tell what sending unit i have jus take out the guage or what?
     
  9. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,621
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    check ohm resistence when empty and full...
     
  10. kevcarr59

    kevcarr59 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Posts:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    It would seem to me the gauge on the propane tank will be a mechanical pressure gauge and not have a sender unit. This would be true if it is mounted by the filler valve.
     
  11. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,621
    Likes Received:
    1,366
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    yeah, I have no idea what his tank setup is... The majority of propane tank gauge setups I have seen are cheap inline pressure readings... But I do know they have electrical too, which I assumed he had cuz he was wiring the gauge to it... Pretty sure they have a straight forward arm/float setup mounted at the bottom of the fill assembly...
     
  12. Disciples Performance

    Disciples Performance 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kelowna BC, Canada
    ya i dunno what kinda sender i have right now all i know is that it was grounded to the tank then a 1 wire left cut? so i thought it would be an electric sending unit ...
     

Share This Page