Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Tubing doors

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Dieselmh, Nov 25, 2001.

1. Dieselmh

Dieselmh 1/2 ton status

Has anyone built/known anyone that has built tubing doors for a 1st gen? I want to build doors for my '70 out of either square or round (prefereably round) tubing and was trying to find if anyone may have some rough dimensions/instructions/hint/tips for me. I know that all K5s will have slightly different dimensions, but I'm not very good at sketching things out. I usually just have to do it, and make corrections as I go, which could get expensive/frustrating. I was just wondering if anyone may have some instructions somewhere as well as hinge and latch ideas. Should I use the factory hinges and door latches, or build my own? If anyone has any info or could point me in the right direction, I'd really appreciate it.

Diesel

Shouldn't it be called uncommon sense?

2. Triaged

Triaged 1/2 ton status

That sounds like a good idea. That is one of the things on my list of mods I want to do but at the very bottom. I would say to go w/ factory hinges (welded on not bolted to make them lighter) so that you could swap them out faster. I don't know what I would do for the latch but you'll think of something. Good luck! I wanta see pics.

'71 Blazer CST w/ a 400sbc, 4" lift, 36" Supper Swampers, and alot of rust
    <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/user/triaged>See it Here </a>

3. travis

travis 1/2 ton status

Biggray71 was trying to fab a set earlier this year. Send him a PM or search the forum, I think it was under "soft doors."

4. Ryan B.

Ryan B. 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

You mean this thread: