Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Tune Up HELP!

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by ED70K5, Sep 12, 2000.

1. ED70K5

ED70K5 1/2 ton status

I'm basically a suspension installer and never really messed with engines, so here it goes! I want to do a tune up on my 350.....4-bolt main engine. I have figured out changing the plugs, wires cap/rotor, oil, fuel filter, air filter.............what else should I do??? I'm going to do this myself, cause I can't stand to pay somebody to work on my 70 K5.

Blazin' in TEXAS!

2. Burt4x4

Burt4x4 3/4 ton status

After you replace the parts you mentioned adjust the timming and air/fuel on your carb, mabie squirt down your carb with some carb cleaner first. Before you begin all this you could also give your motor a bath by soaking it in degreaser then hose it off. When I do this I will usually put a plastic bag over the carb and soak the whole motor with Foamy Engine Bright, then rinse.
    Hope this helps....

Rock ON![​IMG] 72 K5 [​IMG] Led Zeppelin
    http://burt4x4.coloradok5.com

3. JimmyDie6.2

JimmyDie6.2 1/2 ton status

you could also check to see if your antifreeze is still good.(auto parts stores sell an inexpensive tool for this). Thats kind of important around me with winter approaching. You might want to just visually inspect the engine compartment for oil leaks and the like. I find I'm more confident if I do a once over.......js

4. Emmettology 101

Emmettology 101 3/4 ton status

Also change the PCV valve if you have one. And inspect your belts and Vacuum lines.

Mike [​IMG]
    See <font color=green>EMMETT</font color=green> -&gt; http://emmett.coloradok5.com

5. sosamantx

sosamantx 1/2 ton status