Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

turbo 400 into NP205, need adapter!?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by bullets72, Oct 17, 2003.

  1. bullets72

    bullets72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a 72 K5. I'm taking the Th400 out of my rolled 85 K20 truck that was mounted to a NP208 and adapting it to the OEM 205 off the blazer that was mounted to a TH350. I have been told that the adapter housing was a factory GM part to adapt the two cases but it is hard to find. I have also been told that there is no factory part, and I would have to spend the $485 for the conversion Kit from Advance Adapters. Does anyone have this part or know where I could get one? What other 205 mods are reccomended? /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  2. j20m715

    j20m715 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Posts:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Murphy,Tx
    Dont use A/A they are a waste of good money.
    Call up Ord they can fix you up.
     
  3. kennyw

    kennyw N9PHW Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Posts:
    13,223
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Stevens Pass Highway, WA
    Might want to ask this question in one of the 4x4 related forums and it might get better response /forums/images/graemlins/ignore.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  4. kennyw

    kennyw N9PHW Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Posts:
    13,223
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Stevens Pass Highway, WA
    You are going to need to change the 205 from 27 spline (TH-350) input to a 32 spline (TH-400) input. Contact ORD for the kit to do that.

    Next the adapters are probably not in production anymore by GM and you will need to search for a used TH400-205 adapter.

    Another problem may be the out put shaft length on the tranny itself. I believe there are several versions depending on the tcase used for the TH400 and dont think the NP208 and NP205 versions are the same. UglychevyZZ4 has a TH400 in the for sale forum that came with the NP205 (but he already sold the adapter and 205).
     
  5. mudjunkie 82

    mudjunkie 82 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Posts:
    11,449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Check ebay, some times there on there.Also check boycee equipment they sell them. Around 180.00
     
  6. doctor4x4

    doctor4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Posts:
    1,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    EXACTLY WHAT KENNY SAID
    AND YEA the out put shaft is usually different on the stock LENGTH 400-208 then on the 400-205
     

Share This Page