Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Turbo 400 problems

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by bassin4507, Oct 23, 2004.

  1. bassin4507

    bassin4507 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Posts:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Westport, MA
    My turbo 400 won't downshift, when I floor it. The only way I can get it to downshift is to manually do it. I know there is a vacuum line going from the carb. to the transmission, is this what makes it downshift? Or is there supposed to be a cable ?
     
  2. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    The downshift signal on a Turbo 400 is electrical. There should be a switch on the gas pedal bracket that turns on when you floor it. That sends 12 volts to the connector on the drivers side of the tranny and engages kickdown mode.
     
  3. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    where is it at on the gas pedal bracket? Mine downshifts sometimes and sometimes it dont, Im thinkin maybe the switch mount has come loose, or broken, so it only engages sometimes.
     
  4. rubbinz raczn

    rubbinz raczn 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    too far north!
    inside truck should be the only switch on the gas pedal.
     
  5. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    I mean is it at the top of the arm or down nearer where it bolts to the firewall, cause I hadnt seen a switch down there that I remember
     
  6. rubbinz raczn

    rubbinz raczn 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    too far north!
    it's closer to the top. above where it mounts to firewall with the three bolts. a chiltons manual will have the correct adjustment procedure. it's easy! my truck was an original 4 speed so i didn't have the switch parts so i used a lokar performance kickdown cable kit. it mounts to carb linkage via a cable. not as good as a factory setup but it works.
     

Share This Page