Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Turbo 400 ?'s Need info on t-case fitments HELP UPDATE!!

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 83ZZ502_Jimmy, Jun 27, 2001.

  1. 83ZZ502_Jimmy

    83ZZ502_Jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Posts:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Turbo 400 ?\'s Need info on t-case fitments HELP UPDATE!!

    Will a Turbo 400 that was bolted to a 203 t/c work on a 208 t/c with the proper adapter?

    Is there a difference in the shaft length or any other things I should know about...?

    Thanks in advance,
    John

    '83 GMC Jimmy 4x4 ZZ4 Crate Motor
    '83 Chevy P/U 4x4 Sand Drag Racer, 578 RWHP
    '94 Impala SS
    '01 Chevy 2500HD w/8.1L & Allison Auto
    <P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1>Edited by 83ZZ4_Jimmy on 06/28/01 06:55 AM (server time).</FONT></P>
     
  2. thatK30guy

    thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    .
    Re: Turbo 400 ?\'s Need info on t-case fitments HELP

    Th350 and 700R4 have a smaller 27 spline shaft.

    Th400's have a 32 spline shaft and are bigger around.

    The 465 manuals have 10 splines.


    In order for the 208 to mate to the Th400, that 208 needs to have been mated to a 400 originally. You cannot use a 208 that was mated to a 350 or 700R4.

    <font color=red>I m so we Todd did.
    I m sofa king we Todd did.</font color=red>
     
  3. Stephen

    Stephen 1/2 ton status Moderator Vendor

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Posts:
    4,227
    Likes Received:
    142
    Location:
    Carbondale Colorado
    Re: Turbo 400 ?\'s Need info on t-case fitments HELP

    The 400 for a 203 uses a shaft that sticks out about 1.5", the 400 for a 208 uses a 2.5" shaft. They'll engage, but you'll most likely strip the splines. The 400 for a 203 is a real jewel for some of these guys that want to run Doublers, hang onto it. Extra bonus points for having the 203 that came with it.
    good luck

    Making the world better, one truck at a time.
    [image]http://coloradok5.com/logo_ordsmall.gif[/image]
    SW-ORD
     
  4. Motoronbrain

    Motoronbrain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2001
    Posts:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Re: Turbo 400 ?\'s Need info on t-case fitments HELP

    What is so special about the 400 203 combo? I thought a 350 with a 205 would be better.
     
  5. thatK30guy

    thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    .
    Re: Turbo 400 ?\'s Need info on t-case fitments HELP

    What makes the 400/203 combo so special is just like Stephen said......they are great Doubler combo. I have this combo sitting in my shed right now. Think I'm hanging on to it for a possible future Doubler. [​IMG]

    <font color=red>I m so we Todd did.
    I m sofa king we Todd did.</font color=red>
     
  6. Ancient_4X4

    Ancient_4X4 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Posts:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ND, USA
    Re: Turbo 400 ?\'s Need info on t-case fitments HELP

    My truck has np203 and TH400! What's a doubler?
     
  7. Motoronbrain

    Motoronbrain Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2001
    Posts:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Washington
    Re: Turbo 400 ?\'s Need info on t-case fitments HELP

    What other transfer case is needed for the doubler with the 400/203 combo?
     
  8. 83ZZ502_Jimmy

    83ZZ502_Jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Posts:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Re: Turbo 400 ?\'s Need info on t-case fitments HELP

    OK, but my 83 Jimmy has the 465/208 and the 465 has a 32 spline output. (I am sure) I would guess, though, that the 400 for a 203 still will not work properly with a 208... Back to the drawing board..

    <font color=black> But now, will a 400 mated to a 205 fit a 32 spline 208 originally mated to a 465 (32 spline)? </font color=black>

    Thanks

    '83 GMC Jimmy 4x4 ZZ4 Crate Motor
    '83 Chevy P/U 4x4 Sand Drag Racer, 578 RWHP
    '94 Impala SS
    '01 Chevy 2500HD w/8.1L & Allison Auto
    <P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1>Edited by 83ZZ4_Jimmy on 06/28/01 06:54 AM (server time).</FONT></P>
     
  9. JudOne

    JudOne Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Turbo 400 ?\'s Need info on t-case fitments HELP

    The yeqar before the 208 came out only the 205 was used that 205 case is unique in that it has a round bolt patern like the 208. Those will interchange (asuming the 208 and 205 were both off a TH400 with the bigger 32 spline shaft) but earlier 205 don't have the round bolt pattern.

    That round patern 32 spline 205 will also bolt to the NV4500 as will the 32 spline 208.
     
  10. Sparky87k5

    Sparky87k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Posts:
    726
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynden, Washington, 4 miles from Canada
    Re: Turbo 400 ?\'s Need info on t-case fitments HELP

    JudOne: Now this is the 205 that I'm looking for. I'm now using the 208 32 spline that came off my 87 k5 sm465 & bolted it to my NV4500. Looking for the 205 to replace the 208. Hard to find & still looking. Any ideas?

    87 K5, D60 & 14FF, 5 sp & NP208 & 383 stroker. Build it Bulletproof and take it fishing!
     
  11. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Re: Turbo 400 ?\'s Need info on t-case fitments HELP

    If any of you guys need a 208 for a TH 400 I can probably get you one for $300.

    Tim
    '84 Chevy K10, lifted, loud, fast, and 3/4 ton axles
     
  12. ken

    ken 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, CA
    Re: Turbo 400 ?\'s Need info on t-case fitments HELP

    You CAN use a 208 that was originally mounted to a 350 or 700, just need to change the input gear to the 32 spline version...split the case and out she comes! Did this when I replaced the utter JUNK 700R4 tranny in the wife's '90 one ton Suburban, replaced the 27 spline input with a 32 spliner in the 241 transfer. Good luck.

    ken
     

Share This Page