Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

turbo tree fiddy question

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 85burbanator, Nov 30, 2005.

  1. 85burbanator

    85burbanator 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Posts:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lake orion, mi
    i just installed a 350 trans in my 88 and am having trouble coming up with a vacuum solution to the modulator. can i use a lenght of steel brake line in the proper size and then use some vacuum hose on the ends or should i use vacuum hose from the modulator up to the motor? also what should i tie the vacuum into? i took a th400 out of a fuel injected blazer once but cant remember what the line from the trans tied into.
     
  2. BobK

    BobK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Petrolia,Ontario,Canada but working in Port Huron,
    Some 1/4" hard line should be fine.short piece of rubber line at each end.
    Tie into manifold vacume.There is usually a spot at the rear of the intake for this.
     
  3. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,540
    Likes Received:
    539
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    i used 3/16 line on mine no problems. manifold vac .
     
  4. dremu

    dremu Officious Thread Derailer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Posts:
    15,958
    Likes Received:
    452
    Location:
    East of San Francisco
    Use brakeline ... vacuum hose that long WILL expand and shrink and get hot and become an oily sticky melting mess by your exhaust manifold. Ask me why I know this ($&@^$&*@ing previous owner...)

    -- A
     
  5. 85burbanator

    85burbanator 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Posts:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lake orion, mi
    so 1/4 inch steel brake line would be best then? were about on the manifold would the port be(is there one?) the one i took off on the blazer was at the back but if i remember correctly the po spliced it in to a vacuum line via a Y shaped splice and i cant recall were it all pluged in at.
     
  6. BobK

    BobK 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Posts:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Petrolia,Ontario,Canada but working in Port Huron,
    Yes,1/4" or 3/16" hard line will be fine.
    The vacume port is located back behind the carb,infront of the distributor,off to the passenger side just a little bit.
    It's common to have a "Y" ot "T" fitting on there as that is where the A/C get's its vacume from(goes to vacume canister).
     

Share This Page