Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

turboin' a 6.2

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by BowtieBlazer, Aug 25, 2003.

1. BowtieBlazer

BowtieBlazer 1/2 ton status

turboin\' a 6.2

Done some research and got a good friend willing to fork up the near 2,000 for a banks turbo for his truck, I'm a well experienced mechanic but never done a turbo add on....any advice on what I am looking at and if this is an attemptable project for a shadetree mechanic.

What other options am I looking at for good pepup on a 6.2, I've seen recent post on fuel pumps and injectors....comments?

2. rugger03

rugger03 1/2 ton status

Re: turboin\' a 6.2

Have to ask a few questions first; what year motor, how many miles? I would do a compression check befoer spending any money on a turbo kit, to make sure the engine is up to the task. Banks kits have dropped alot from what i've seen on ebay. a new banks kit with exhaust just sold for under $800. The banks kit shouldnt be to hard for you to install between the both of you it should only take a weekend, I havent done one but i have the intallation instructions for one and it looks pretty damn easy. If i had to do it over i would have bought a Banks kit.

3. BowtieBlazer

87 6.2 45,000 original miles, very unfamiliar with a 6.2 what kind of compression is acceptable

4. rugger03

rugger03 1/2 ton status