Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TV cable ? 700R4

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by crwln73, Jan 22, 2003.

  1. crwln73

    crwln73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    Posts:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clovis,Ca
    I did a search and all I can find is how to adjust it.I want to know is how hard is it to change?Do you have to drop the pan? /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  2. RATAH

    RATAH 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Franklin,Ohio
    no you dont have to drop the pan
    there is one bolt on the tranny and unhook it from the carb
    then adjust it,
    thats it
     
  3. crwln73

    crwln73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    Posts:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clovis,Ca
    What does the end of the cable attach to at the tranny end?
     
  4. great scott

    great scott 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Posts:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    Re: TV cable ?

    no, just unbolt it from the trans, pull it up until it stops, unhook it from the rod in the trans(you may whant to put needel nose vice grips on the rod to make it easier to install), unhook from the carb and braket and its out. dont forget to ajust the new one.
     
  5. RATAH

    RATAH 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Posts:
    576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Franklin,Ohio
    its a hook type thing in the trans
    unbolt it and you will see it
    sorry i cant be of more help
    but im a newbie
     
  6. joker89blazer

    joker89blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Posts:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    panama city florida zip 32409
    Look here.....
    http://www.thirdgen.org/newdesign/tech/detent.shtml

    Look at the pictures, it is the same on a blazer.

    You do not need to remove the cable from the trans to adjust it.

    Push in the metal release for the cable, pull cable all the way back in, turn thottle to Wide Open Throttle and the cable will pull out to the correct setting.
     
  7. joker89blazer

    joker89blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2001
    Posts:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    panama city florida zip 32409
    Never mind.Guess I should read before posting.

    To replace...
    The cable housing is bolted to the trans with one bolt.The inner cable hooks onto a rod inside trans.
    1]Unbolt cable
    2] pull up on the cable so that you can clamp a small pair of needle nose vicegrips on the rod
    3]unhook inner cable from rod, leave vicegrips in place to keep rod from going back into trans
    4]hook new inner cable to rod,remove vice grips
    5]bolt cable housing to trans
    6]install cable to throttle asem.
    7]adjust
    /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  8. crwln73

    crwln73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    Posts:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clovis,Ca
    Thanx !! /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     

Share This Page