Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TV on the computer

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by bigjbear, May 3, 2006.

  1. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,973
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    SO, talk to me about watching TV on my computer. I heard something about it on the radio the other day and TSGB's post reminded me of it. I've got cable internet, so the feed is there. I've watched DVDs on it, but would like to be able to watch races or ballgames (its in my bar room) w/o putting a TV in here, too.

    I've looked at this: http://www.gbpvr.com/ so far.
     
  2. Bubba Ray Boudreaux

    Bubba Ray Boudreaux 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2001
    Posts:
    20,716
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Undisclosed Location
    Wish I could help more than just to say that my video card supports it. Maybe you need a video card????????????

    :D :D :D
     
  3. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,973
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    Hell, I don't know, I haven't even tried to do it yet. I guess I need to remember- read:try and find the paperwork that will tell me- what video card I have. If all I need is a new card, some software, and a remote that would be sweet. I might even buy a bigger monitor and give this one to the kids.
     
  4. BranndonC

    BranndonC 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Posts:
    8,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, Ca
    get a TV tuner card. It has a cable input in it. Screw the cable to it, open the app and watch tv
     
  5. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,973
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    well that's redicusily simple, I guess I'll be going shopping this weekend. They have these at Best Buy or on the net somewhere?
     
  6. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,973
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    Marietta GA
  7. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
  8. BranndonC

    BranndonC 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Posts:
    8,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, Ca
    It is pretty easy. Mines old and outdated, but the they have features like DVR, and some have a FM radio
     
  9. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,973
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    Thanks guys:waytogo:
    SO how about recommending a wide screen monitor?
     
  10. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
  11. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,973
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    Marietta GA
  12. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Read up on the ATI before you lay down your cash. Some tuner cards depend on your CPU to do all the work of converting the incoming signal to MPEG. They'll eat up a significant chunk of CPU time, which really slows down any other programs you want to run at the same time. :(

    I have this card from Hauppauge: PVR-150 which has it's own hardware MPEG encoder on the card, so it hardly uses any CPU time at all. They also have models with dual tuners (and encoders), so that you can record two shows at once or watch one live while recording another. :cool1:

    Then if you also get the Hauppauge Media MVP you can watch the shows recorded on your PC from any TV in the house. I also use mine to stream music to the stereo. Once we're moved into the new house, I have a second one that will get wired to the stereo in the garage so I can have unlimited tunes out there. :cool1:
     
  13. Russell

    Russell LB7 Tahoe Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2000
    Posts:
    7,927
    Likes Received:
    343
    Location:
    Fort McMurray, Alberta
    Wow, high concentration of green in here ;)

    I've got an ATI All-In-Wonder 9800 Pro for a video card, which has dual tuners on-board (picture in picture, totally useless really, lol). I use it to watch TV all the time, and the picture is just as good, if not better than a regular TV. As mentioned above, the ATI cards (whether an all-in-wonder, or a TV-wonder) do their own video processing, so despite overheating occasionally if you don't have sufficient cooling for your case, you don't have too much of a slow down on other programs. However, it and Flash apps / ads etc don't get along at all...
     
  14. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    I picked up my tuner for something like $60 on sale. Bought two of the Media MVP's on clearance at Radio Shack for $40 each. :cool1:
     
  15. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,973
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    Thanks guys
     
  16. roadhawg

    roadhawg 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Posts:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    all the ATI All in wonder cards are cable ready, they even have optional remote controls....i Love Mine i can watch tv in a window while doing something else or full screen like a tv. it even has a record and timer record function. If your hard drive is big enough you can record shows, i recorded a 4 hour nascar race and used up about 20 gigs worth of space in dvd quality.
     

Share This Page