Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

TV tuners in your PC

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by hunterguy86, Sep 19, 2006.

  1. hunterguy86

    hunterguy86 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas
    Well my little 13 inch TV that I've had in my room for years has started to crap out. Instead of buying a new TV I was thinking of purchasing a TV tuner for my PC. I've looked at some on newegg but I'm really not sure what I should be looking for. I really dont want to break the bank on this one either.

    The only thing I know I want in the card is a remote and either a PCI or PICe slot card. I really dont want a USB card.

    I want this card to play video with fairly good quality and it would be nice if it would record as well.

    PC specs:
    AMD 3500 processor clocked to 2.32 ghz
    2 gb of ram
    74 gb raptor HD (master)
    120 gb HD (slave)
    ATI X200 video card.
     
  2. TSGB

    TSGB 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Posts:
    12,527
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centralia, Washington
    I got one built into my Dell, with Media Center. Dunno how it works though, I can't afford cable. :doah: Came with a fancy remote that works a box connected to the computer via USB. The card can supposedly let me watch a channel while recording another. Came out to about $80 after remote.
     
  3. cbbr

    cbbr 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    14,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    High velocity, Low altitude
    The Media Center stuff on my laptop works great. I use it to watch TV and movies all of the time.
     
  4. midnitewarya

    midnitewarya Sounds like a problem for future me. Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    SoCal
    ATI makes a nice setup, it's call the TVWonder. The upper model comes with a remote and stuff. I did the same thing years ago when I was still in the Army and living in Barracks. It saves space and you can also use you computer as a DVR so you never miss shows. It's pretty awesome.

    :D
     
  5. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    There is also NVidia based PCI cards out there with it as well . I have used one for 3 years or so with no problems . Mine has the video card , and the tuner is in a cabled box and I sit it to the side , keeping the extra heat out of my case . And I got a remote , and it records TV and has inputs to record off my camcorder etc .
     
  6. SkysTheLimit

    SkysTheLimit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Hauppauge PVR150. works under both Linux & Windoh's. hardware mpeg encoding and comes with a remote and an IR blaster.

    When you're ready to step up to the big leagues, check out MythTV. My entire theater at home is run off 1 PC, a projector and a stack of amps.
     
  7. jekquistk5

    jekquistk5 Weld nekid Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Posts:
    11,015
    Likes Received:
    848
    Location:
    Pinckney, MI

    Hauppauge makes good stuff and for the same ammount you get more features then ATI or NVIDIA
     
  8. chevyfumes

    chevyfumes Court jester

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    38,584
    Likes Received:
    266
    Location:
    Watch for the muzzleflash!
    I just looked at the myth tv site, thats badass,I have no idea what all that stuff is or what there talking about but it was cool,I think...
     
  9. hunterguy86

    hunterguy86 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas
    I looked at some of the Hauppauge cards on Newegg. The reivews should that it works great under linux but it doesnt work well with windows. Crashes and stuff like that. Thats the thing that concerns me, since I dont want to convert my desktop to Ubuntu yet. It would be nice to have a card thats proven to work in linux in case I ever do switch though. Ah the decisions!!!!
     
  10. jekquistk5

    jekquistk5 Weld nekid Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Posts:
    11,015
    Likes Received:
    848
    Location:
    Pinckney, MI

    Seriously UBUNTU is an easier install then windows!!!! I got 10 copies sent to me in the mail and tried it out wow, so easy!!!
     
  11. xblaxermnx

    xblaxermnx Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In a state of flux
    You neednt worry aboot that. Ive had a Hauppauge PVR150 for a while and recorded all Broncos games last year with no crashes.

    Easy to use as well.


    (Yes, even recorded the damn AFC Championship game:mad:)
     
  12. hunterguy86

    hunterguy86 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas

    I love ubuntu. I have it on my laptop. I just dont want to switch to it on my desktop, because i dont think autocad and stuff like that will run on it.
     
  13. hunterguy86

    hunterguy86 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,477
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Marcos, Texas
    May have to look into it. Thanks for the tips everyone.
     

Share This Page