Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

two amps to one sub, can it be done??

Discussion in 'Audio' started by XHitman396, Dec 29, 2003.

  1. XHitman396

    XHitman396 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Posts:
    620
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    ok i have 2 kenwood 600 amps (300 rms) and i want to put them both into one sub, one 12", or a really good 10", but can you do that, i talked to a buddy of mine and he said that the amps would hit like hundredths of a second apart but it would still make it sound like crap, so can it be done with quality, and if yes, i was thinking audiobahn with the sub, any suggestions. thanks...
     
  2. 4GUNZ4X4Z

    4GUNZ4X4Z 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Posts:
    3,459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mustang, Oklahoma
    I assume the amps are the exact same and can't be used as a slave setup. Just get a dual voice coil sub (that can handle the power) and hook up each amp to a seperate coil. In other words the a dvc sub will have two sets of positive/negative inputs directly across one another on the basket. Hook up one amp per set of inputs. Bam problem solved. Hope this helps. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif


    [ QUOTE ]
    i talked to a buddy of mine and he said that the amps would hit like hundredths of a second apart but it would still make it sound like crap,

    [/ QUOTE ] Retarded...
     
  3. 4GUNZ4X4Z

    4GUNZ4X4Z 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Posts:
    3,459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mustang, Oklahoma
    I'd go with a 12", then again I'm bias.
     
  4. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    [ QUOTE ]
    he said that the amps would hit like hundredths of a second apart but it would still make it sound like crap

    [/ QUOTE ] Tell your friend he needs to go to a few Stereo contests. Almost all DB Drags use 2 amps to each sub. /forums/images/graemlins/deal.gif
     
  5. XHitman396

    XHitman396 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 3, 2002
    Posts:
    620
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    thanks for your help guys, i now start my ebay sub search..
     
  6. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    I can't speek for audiobahn's quality becouse I've never owned one. But I can tell you that Treo Engineering makes some of the best subs I've ever heard. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  7. hawglet

    hawglet 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Posts:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hastings,NE
    I haven't ever seen the Treo subs that are spoke of, nor heard them but MA Audio is the best sub I have ever heard when hooked. I ran two 1000 watt 12" subs in an S-10 for several years with only 600 watts total running to the both of them. They consistently hit about 112 db. That's not bad for only giving them a third of the power they required. MA has several lines to chose from so the prices range. The newest(most expensive) is the best sounding sub I have ever heard but it's too expensive for me.
     

Share This Page