Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

u bolt torque settings

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by drchan, Mar 21, 2003.

  1. drchan

    drchan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Posts:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    edmond, oklahoma
    anybody know the torque setting for u-bolts on a 72 k5 with no modifications?
     
  2. ColAdo82K5

    ColAdo82K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MO
    Hey,
    Most of the people here and the manuals i have read run anywhere from 135-150 ft/lbs.
    Blake
     
  3. Highlander

    Highlander 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Posts:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lakewood Colo
    When I put my 60 in the Rancho u-bolts said to do mine at 110ft lbs and the ft lbs got smaller as the bolt got smaller. I'll see what my book says



    Eric
     
  4. BowtieRed

    BowtieRed 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Posts:
    1,776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winston-Salem, NC
    i put 150 on my 'custom made' (at a spring shop) ubolts- now that i'm taking out my blocks i gott get new ones- sucks.
     
  5. Muley

    Muley 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Posts:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Eagle Mountain, UT
    My buddy who is a GM mechanic say to 40ft lbs. that after a 100 miles re-torque them to 50ft lbs, then check a couple more times after 100 miles each.

    He says that if you torque them down to much then you run the risk of them snapping.
     
  6. BowtieRed

    BowtieRed 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2002
    Posts:
    1,776
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winston-Salem, NC
    hmmm. . . that seem low- especially if you have blocks, my u-bolts are premium grade, i really don't think that 150ft-lbs will snap them.
     

Share This Page