Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

U-bolts on 14 bolt FF

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by BLzr4x4ngkid, Feb 5, 2001.

1. BLzr4x4ngkid

BLzr4x4ngkid 1/2 ton status

Are the u-bolts for a 14 bolt FF different from the 10 bolt? If I need new u-bolts for the bigger axle, do I have to get a new plate that sits on top of the springs? I'm new to all this 3/4 ton mumbo jumbo. This will definately be a learning experience for me.

"Don't hit me with them negative waves so early in the morning." Odd Ball--Kelly's Hereos

2. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

Definitely get the upper plate if you can. The U-bolts for a 14 bolt will need to be bigger to accomodate the larger axle tube diameter (3 3/8" O.D.)

Rene

[​IMG]

3. thatK30guy

thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

I will try to find those plates for you. I know I have some somewhere, just have to find them. They are bigger than 1/2 ton and the rear u-bolts you will need will measure 3 3/8" x 11". I dont have these since I left them on the 86 when I lowered it.

4. Stoopalini

Stoopalini 1/2 ton status

You do not need to buy new plates. You will need new U bolts, but if you plan on using your existing 1/2 Ton springs, then stick with the 1/2 Ton Spring Plates too.

When I did my conversion (10b to 14ff), I got new U-bolts from Steve over at ORD, and re-used the stock spring plates.
    All I had to do was squeeze the U-bolts together a little to get them into the 1/2 plate's holes.

Thomas.

-- '84 K5 Blazer --
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://Stoopalini.coloradok5.com>http://Stoopalini.coloradok5.com</A>

5. Chris Demartini

Chris Demartini 1/2 ton status