Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Ubolt question with reversal kit

Discussion in 'OffRoad Design' started by thatncguy, Oct 26, 2004.

1. thatncguy

thatncguy Newbie

I have a 2002 Silverado I just bought one of your Ubolt reversal kits for.

Sorry if this is a stupid question its my first time with rounded Ubolts all I have used before is thread down kind.

I put my new springs on and when to install the ubolts and plate.
    The ubolts fit but were a tight fit the the further to "all the way on" I got. Actually had to be tapped up with a hammer the last inch.

Is this good or bad?

I went to put on the top plate and noticed that the thread ends had seperated where they no longer went into the top plate.
    Is this normal?
    I can not force them in with my hands, but I can with a clamp.

I was told by a guy on the internet that I trust alot but Im just checking with you b/c you might be able to double confirm this.
    He said
    "that is normal and find, I usually have to use a clamp to get mine on. All good ubolts are made that way so they apply clamping force to the axel to keep them from moving"

Is this true, or did I get Ubolts that are not the right size.

Thanks a MILLION /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif

2. 85mudblazin

85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

did you buy the right kit for your axle?? /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif

3. Stephen

Stephen 1/2 ton status Moderator Vendor

I prefer to use a big pair of channel lock pliers, a clamp is a pain comparatively.
    If the bolts are only a little off (1/8th" total maybe) you're fine. More than that and you should measure the axle tube and call.

4. thatncguy

thatncguy Newbie

I could not afford to have the truck down anylonger so I finished putting these on.

The amount they Opened is hard to say.