Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

UPDATE ON MY A/C!!

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by muddysub, Jul 11, 2002.

  1. muddysub

    muddysub 1 ton suburban status Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Posts:
    10,451
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    my garage, Henderson, NV
    it's not gonna cost $1300!

    my friend's friend does a/c work and he has r134a and r12 at his house (shhhhhhh /forums/images/icons/wink.gif ) so all i need to do is replace the compressor and he'll charge it up for me!
     
  2. MudbogAD

    MudbogAD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Posts:
    672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas Nevada, US
    Dude, don't even bother with R12. Just come over. I've got some propane we can use! /forums/images/icons/laugh.gif /forums/images/icons/laugh.gif /forums/images/icons/laugh.gif
     
  3. muddysub

    muddysub 1 ton suburban status Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Posts:
    10,451
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    my garage, Henderson, NV
    isn't that illegal?
     
  4. K5 NUTT

    K5 NUTT 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grand Junction Colorado
    What brand of compressor did you use...if its not a genuine Gm or GM rebuild...or an AAPCO AIR unit you are gonna have problems. 4 seasons...everco..murray are all the same company now....i haven't ever seen one make it thru the summer yet. Just installed a AAPCO AIR reman A-6 compressor ($95 from AAPAK in PHX)...new lines...orifice..accumulator...freeze12 in my 76 Chalet...works great and no problems...wonder if some dumby left the high side gauge valve on while charging the system...and broke a reed valve or piston.

    Azblazer
     
  5. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    I posted some info on your other AC post. Check it out.
    You need to do a lot more than just replace the compressor.
    When you loose a compressor there may be pieces of it all throughout the system.
    Heres a few Things you need to do that I can think of off hand.
    Flush the whole system This is very important !
    Replace dryer
    Replace orfice tube
    Replace filters

    Doing these will assure that the system is clean. So your new compressor wont be runed by a metal fragment.
     
  6. muddysub

    muddysub 1 ton suburban status Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Posts:
    10,451
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    my garage, Henderson, NV
    yeah i read it and i'm gonna do all that.
     

Share This Page