Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

*UPDATE* Truck hard to start. Dieseldan look Think I got it!!

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by 84CUCV, Jan 21, 2003.

1. 84CUCV

84CUCV 3/4 ton status Premium Member

Dieseldan, I don't see how the sensor can be leaking there. It looks new brand new. I just changed the fuel filter. GP are new so is the relay and the controller. How do I check them? maybe I was sold a bad one? I have no clue what it could be. Any other ideas? Thanks again Mike

2. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

Re: OK.....I am about to give up My truck is real hard to start. Dieseldan look

I'm a total newbie to diesels too and my 6.2 that i recently swapped in seemed difficult to start for a while. I had a small leak at the supply line to the lift pump. It was still kinda tough when cold but I've learned to hold the key a little longer and it usually flashes up after 5 or 6 seconds now.

One thing I found was some instructions on the visor of our parts truck. It said for temps above freezing hold the gas pedal down halfway...temps below freezing hold it to the floor. I find that works pretty good for my truck.

Rene

3. 4xfreak

4xfreak Registered Member

One thing I found was some instructions on the visor of our parts truck. It said for temps
    above freezing hold the gas pedal down halfway...temps below freezing hold it to the floor.
    I find that works pretty good for my truck.

Rene /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
    This is really good advice I found this trick out as soon as the cold weather headed my way and sure enough it works every time, awesome advice! /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif

4. Tybee

Tybee 1/2 ton status

What about you lift pump? And does it start right up after its hot?

5. DieselDan