Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

UPDATED! D60 guru's, I've got questions?!?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by mkmiller, Apr 11, 2004.

1. mkmiller

mkmiller 1/2 ton status

UPDATED! D60 guru\'s, I\'ve got questions?!?

I'm a newbie to the Dana 60 front end so I have a few questions. Going to look at one that is from a '77 1ton that has 4.56 gears, according to the guy it needs new kingpins and does not have the lockout conversion he also has a 14BFF and the truck has a 6" lift kit(I'm pretty sure rear blocks but didn't ask). What I need to know is what to look out for on the D60 and 14B and how big(and costly) job is fixing the frontend. what would be a good price for me to get them for(What to offer). He said he would separate but I'm thinking I would get a better deal to buy it all because he wants to sell it all. Any help is appreciated. THANKS!
    Matthew /forums/images/graemlins/ears.gif

2. 4X4HIGH

4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

Re: D60 guru\'s, I\'ve got questions?!?

Front D60's are going anywhere from $750.00 to $1200.00 and a 14BFF you can get for around $100.00 to $150.00 keep in mind that regardless of what you pay for the D60 you should at the least tear it down and see what it needs, most of the time a king pin rebuild is all thats needed unless you want deeper gears.

3. 84_Chevy_K10

84_Chevy_K10 Banned

D60s are a money pit. If you have to repair a Dana 60 front it costs big $$$$$ for everything. It's worth it though, unlike pouring money into a cheaper axle that will be swapped out one day anyway.

4. mudjunkie 82

mudjunkie 82 1 ton status GMOTM Winner