Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Urgent help needed

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by k20, Feb 20, 2004.

  1. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    Hey guys, where is the fuel pump fuse located on a tbi truck? Wiring diagrams say it is between the distribution block and the fuel pump relay on the firewall, but i cant find it, where is it, thanks.
     
  2. bigyellowjimmy

    bigyellowjimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Posts:
    2,105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    isnt it on the passenger side firewall behind the plastic cover?
     
  3. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    Behind what plastic cover? There is the relay itself on the pass side of the firewall and it is plastic. Or on the drivers side there is a rubber or soft plastic sleeve that holds wires up its about 6" long, its over the booster, is it in there?
     
  4. 69K5

    69K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Posts:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Monroe, LA
    black plastic covet thats shaped kinda like a T between the block and the heatercore. held on with 2 or 3 plastic nuts
     
  5. bigyellowjimmy

    bigyellowjimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Posts:
    2,105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    I was thinking of the black plastic relay cover. I was also thinking of the fuel pump relay.....sorry. /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif
     
  6. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    your post intrigues me, I dont recall seeing this on my truck, got a pic? And are you sure you arent thinkin of the 2 relays that are above the heatercore in height, but between the block and the heatercore? Theres 2 relays hangin there, and the bracket that holds them is held on w/ 2 sheetmetal screws.
     
  7. bigyellowjimmy

    bigyellowjimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Posts:
    2,105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    what are ya working on?
     
  8. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    well, I put a Edelbrock MPFI system on was supposed to change the fuse to a larger one for their pump, well stupid me forgot that, today took it for a test drive, shut it down, worked some more, tried to refire, nothing. Then noticed pumps werent workin. Checked pressure, nothing. Then I hooked 12v direct to the fuel pump relay via that little red pigtail on the wiring harness, and the pumps run. That pigtail bypasses the fuse so I know its the fuse, I jsut dont know where it is. BTW if you talking about vehicle its a 87 Chevy K/V20 came w/ a 350, now its got a 496.
     
  9. bigyellowjimmy

    bigyellowjimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Posts:
    2,105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    very cool project. the reason you cant find the black plastic cover is because you are working on a V series, we assumed you were working on the new body style. sorry I have no idea where to find the fuse on the R/V series....surely somebody out there has one of these and can help??????
     
  10. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    Ah, that would make sense, for some reason I thought i had put 87 in my orig post *hits head on table*
     
  11. bigyellowjimmy

    bigyellowjimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Posts:
    2,105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    No worries.....anybody know where the fuel pump fuse is on a R/V series??????????????????
     
  12. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    If you have something that bypasses the fuse, can't you wire in an inline fuse?

    Or maybe you want to do it right hahahahah /forums/images/graemlins/laugh.gif
     
  13. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    Ive really thought about doing that, but I hate working on a bastardized wiring harness (previous owners suck btw). So id RATHER do it right, but I have not a clue where this danged fuse is.
     
  14. frankin5

    frankin5 Super Mall Crawler Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Posts:
    883
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    chico,calif
    fuel pump is powered by the 10 amp ecm b fuse in the fuse block under the dash. /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif lower left side next to turn signals
     
  15. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    if you are right I owe you an eternal debt of gratitude, im off to pull that fuse
     
  16. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    i love u man! /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif /forums/images/graemlins/peace.gif
     
  17. Derf00

    Derf00 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2000
    Posts:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Abilene, TX
    Just confirming what Frankie said, but when we put in our MPFI I don't recall changing any fuses, but we did have to change the fuel pump to the pump used in the late model Vortec engines. I would show you some pics of our set up, but at the present time it is so covered in mud, I am surprised it runs. It has performed flawlessly for almost 2 yrs and I am crazy about it.
     
  18. k20

    k20 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Posts:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mineral Springs, NC
    See edelbrock, when you have dual tanks gives you ANOTHER pump, so you end up w/ 3 pumps /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif So i guess with 3 pumps, you pull more than 10 amps lol. But if I had single tanks, then I would have gotten 1 new pump and it would have gone in the tank. Go figure.
     

Share This Page