Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Urgent TH350 help needed!!! UPDATE!

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Adrock, Oct 24, 2001.

  1. Adrock

    Adrock 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Marlboro, MA
    i strarted it up this morning and it started puking out tranny fluid all under my truck. its coming from inside the inspection cover of the torque converter, i would have opened it up and looked, but the bolts were real friggin tight. anyone have any idea what is goin on? it only comes out when i turn the engine on and its a pretty steady flow. i really hope its not a seal or something.. HELP!!!!!

    Update- ITS THE SEAL! DAMMIT! FRIGGIN STUPID ASS AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION AAAAAAHHHHHHH!!!! wait, where is the plug supposed to be on the torque converter?

    Adam
    a.k.a. Adrock
    "With great power there must also come great responsibility" -Spiderman
    "Nothing can stop the Unstopable Juggernaut"<P ID="edit"><FONT class="small">Edited by Adrock on 10/25/01 10:05 AM.</FONT></P>
     
  2. thatK30guy

    thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    .
    Re: Urgent TH350 help needed!!!

    Are the lines going into the tranny from the cooler tight or broken?

    What about the little rubber plug/seal for the dipstick tube?

    Other than those ideas, I'm out! [​IMG] Sorry!



    I'm not picking my nose...I'm just pointing at my brain!! [​IMG]

    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/thatK30guy>The K30 Collection</a>
     
  3. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Re: Urgent TH350 help needed!!!

    Sounds like the seal to me. Gonna have to at least pull the tranny back to get in there and see what it is. Seal is easy to replace, (once you can get to it) hopefully the converter hub isn't grooved.



    Dorian
    My tech/links page: <a target="_blank" href=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</a>
    Why insist on counting when the ring gear has the tooth counts stamped in?
     
  4. Tatman

    Tatman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Posts:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Re: Urgent TH350 help needed!!!

    Another thing besides the seal you might want to check.... the torque converter I got with my rebuilt TH350 has a drain plug in it........ make sure that hasn't fallen out. If it has at least it should be in the bottom of your inspection cover and be able to put back in without pulling the trans.

    Brian
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.saddletramps.com/BlazerK5.htm>www.saddletramps.com/BlazerK5.htm</a>
     
  5. Adrock

    Adrock 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Marlboro, MA
    Re: Urgent TH350 help needed!!!

    alright, thanks alot, i'll check those and see which one it is. how do i go about dealing with the seal if it is what is broke? anyone know? thanks

    Adam
    a.k.a. Adrock
    "With great power there must also come great responsibility" -Spiderman
    "Nothing can stop the Unstopable Juggernaut"
     
  6. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Re: Urgent TH350 help needed!!!

    To replace the front seal you have to drop the tranny, pull out the torque converter, then remove the seal and install the new one. Reinstall torque converter (spin it several times while pressing in on it until you feel it "click" into place to make sure it's fully seated in the pump again) then reinstall the tranny. [​IMG]

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck>www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck</a>
    It's a great day to be alive...
     
  7. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Re: Urgent TH350 help needed!!!

    And don't forget to lube the seal with grease before reinstall. (if you ahve to replace it) Vaseline apparently works, although the special tranny goop is supposedly a bit better.

    Dorian
    My tech/links page: <a target="_blank" href=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</a>
    Why insist on counting when the ring gear has the tooth counts stamped in?
     
  8. Blazer_Boy

    Blazer_Boy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Posts:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sioux City, IA, USA
    Re: Urgent TH350 help needed!!!

    The tip of your input shaft might be bunged up and won't hold the o-ring so all the fluid being pumped into your TC is leaking.

    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/bigkern76>http://www.geocities.com/bigkern76</a>
     
  9. Adrock

    Adrock 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Marlboro, MA
    well, i think i found the problem. check first post for update, and please, if you have done this before, please tell me and tricks or anything that you came across? the leak was coming from behind the Torque converter, is the plug near there, or is that definately the seal? anyone want to buy a blazer? just needs some tranny work...

    Adam
    a.k.a. Adrock
    "Sticking feathers up your butt does not make
    you a chicken." ~Tyler~
     
  10. thatK30guy

    thatK30guy 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2001
    Posts:
    32,076
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    .
    $50 and you deliver to my house. [​IMG]



    I'm not picking my nose...I'm just pointing at my brain!! [​IMG]

    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/thatK30guy>The K30 Collection</a>
     
  11. Adrock

    Adrock 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Marlboro, MA
    Gee, thanks for the encouragement. when i turn the engine on the fluid really pours out, not just drips, it is a real steady stream, is that what ussually happend when the seal goes

    Adam
    a.k.a. Adrock
    "Sticking feathers up your butt does not make
    you a chicken." ~Tyler~
     
  12. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,982
    Likes Received:
    191
    Location:
    Roy WA
    No real tricks. The front seal is just like a pinion yoke seal, or the output on the tranny. (you can see that one on a 2wd vehicle, if you want to get an idea before you tear it down)

    Sharp screwdriver under the lip of the seal, pound on it until the metal ring buckles, and pry it out.

    Reinstall, you can use a hammer, but you have to be very careful and slow not to warp it. (tap all the way around until it gets started in the pump, then you can hit it a bit harder)

    Lube seal with vaseline, (I'd say axle grease or similar if it was a pinion yoke seal, but I wouldn't want that in the tranny) and replace the converter. Turn converter while wiggling it, and pressing slightly in. Should be three distinct "clunks" as the converter seats fully. Shouldn't be able to get your finger behind the converter when its fully seated.

    I've had good luck using a piece of rope (or tie down strap) over the top of the bellhousing, and tied over the front of the torque converter, to KEEP it seated when you go to re-install the transmission in the vehicle. Then just untie it and remove when you get it bolted up.

    Never know, the seal may just have pushed out itself. That was supposedly common on the early 700R4's and 200-4R's, but not so much on TH350.

    Dorian
    My tech/links page: <a target="_blank" href=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</a>
    Why insist on counting when the ring gear has the tooth counts stamped in?
     
  13. Tatman

    Tatman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Posts:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    I'd say it's definitely the seal.... the plug on mine is located along the outer rim on the engine sideof the converter... you would see it if you turned the converter... have never seen one on a converter before this one

    Brian
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.saddletramps.com/BlazerK5.htm>www.saddletramps.com/BlazerK5.htm</a>
     

Share This Page