Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Using an air chissel to remove spring hangers

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by afroman006, Jun 8, 2003.

1. afroman006

afroman006 1/2 ton status

Can it be done? I need to take the spring hangers off my 1 ton parts truck. If it matters, I can get at the hangers from above because the wood bed of the truck is all rotten and/or not there. What kind of head/bit/whateveryoucallit should I use. Also, how do I use a air chissel? I've never used one before... Thx

Sorry for the confusion I was thinking spring hangers in my head but wrote perches.

2. gravdigr

gravdigr 1/2 ton status

Re: Using an air chissel to remove spring perches

If you are talking the perches that are welded to the axle tube you will be there forever and a day trying to take em off with an air chisel. A 4" grinder may work to grind off the weld beads.

3. rodzzilla

rodzzilla 1/2 ton status

An air chisel will work fine. Use a flat cutting blade. Once you get the head of the rivet cut off, you can use the edge, or a blunt tool to pop the rivet out. Match the angle of the blade to the rivet to get the best bite. Might have to work around the circumfrence of the rivet. Hopefully I am explaining this good enough. One of those deals where you think everyone knows what you are talking about. Sometimes I will score the head of the rivet w/a cut off tool. Kinda make it look like a std screw head.

4. gravdigr

gravdigr 1/2 ton status

OK the post was edited it did say spring PERCHES which would indicate the perches on the axle tube /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif now that is says hangers yes a air chisel can take off those rivets no problem.

5. Triaged

Triaged 1/2 ton status