Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

vacuum advance question

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by caryhenry, Jan 23, 2003.

1. caryhenry

caryhenry Registered Member

Ok guys, I'm new to the world of carbs, and I keep hearing about vacuum advance. My question is this: What is vacuum advance and what exactly does it do? I do know that mine is not hooked up on my 85, and it doesn't seem to make a difference. any info would be very helpful

2. muscle

muscle 1/2 ton status

As your rpm increases so does your vacuum. This increased vacuum is used to advance the timingon your distributor. Think of skeet shooting. The faster the target is moving from side to side, the more you have to lead it with your shot. The same principle applies to the speed of the piston. The faster it is moving in the cylinder, the faster and sooner you need to detonate the fuel/air mixture because the piston will be at the optimum location much sooner when detonation occurs.

At idle your engine may be timed to be approx. 12 degrees BTC. At 3000 rpmthe timing may advance to 30 degrees BTC. Without advancing the timing at higher rpm your performance and fuel economy will be greatly diminished.

Im sure there is a better explanation out there tho. /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif

3. BorregoK5

BorregoK5 1/2 ton status