Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

very sad end to an other wise very happy evening.

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by colbystephens, Feb 10, 2006.

  1. colbystephens

    colbystephens 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    10,924
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Oregon
    so i started reassembling my engine this evening. i had finished plastiguaging my mains, installed my cam, set the crank in place and started torquing the main cap bolts down to proper spec. i'm torquing these down with the proper method - in thirds of force, if you will - and i get to the point of putting 110lbs of torque on the inner bolts. first one goes just fine - second one i don't get a click when i expect to from my torque wrench, so i loosen that bolt and start over from 70 lbs. i get up to 110 again and i still don't have the click when i expect it, but i just figured i must be wrong. i was wrong to assume i was wrong. sheared the bolt in two. :( so i loaded the engine back into my truck and it will be off to the machine shop bright and early tomorrow hoping that they'll remove the broken piece of the bolt for me for free (i just dropped some serious cash there, so i think my chances are pretty decent.) what i'm concerned about is the cost of replacement bolts. we'll see what happens. i guess it's good that it broke b/c had i overtorqued it and then loosened it and then torqued it to proper spec without shearing the bolt, i suppose it wouldn't be perfect b/c of the possible stretch and "twist" the bolt may have suffered when i originally overtorqued it. maybe this is a blessing in disguise so that i don't install faulty parts. who knows. wow - you read my pouting all the way to the end? thanks for listening to me cry. :) :haha:
     
  2. midnitewarya

    midnitewarya Sounds like a problem for future me. Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    SoCal
    That sucks dude. Once I installed a brand new TBI, and stripped one of the fuel lines while putting it in. I was sooooo mad. It ended up costing $75 because I had to get a new TBI body.

    It is a blessing that you found it without moving on to the next bolts. Just thinking of all the probs that could have caused gives me the creeps.

    Hope it works out.

    Al
     
  3. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    where they new or used?
     
  4. Seventy4Blazer

    Seventy4Blazer 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Posts:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    have your torque wrench checked as well. mine has been in a drawer for a ew years and is all screwed up... both of them. one i knew was busted, the other should have been fine...
    grant
     
  5. roadnotca

    roadnotca 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Colby, try search on 6.2 main cap bolts to see if those bolts are marginal; I think I read somewhere that someone else snapped one off. Where on the bolt did it snap? Also, was it prepped exactly per the book (lube/dry) and which book? That motor with ~20:1 C/R I wouldn't be surprised if those bolts are right out there at warp 9. They may not be reusable.:confused:
     
  6. colbystephens

    colbystephens 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    10,924
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Oregon
    well, here's the deal. just got back from the machine shop and sure enough it was my torque wrench. they checked its accuracy - when my wrench showed 89#, theirs was at 110#, thus, with mine at 110#, i can't even imagine how high the torque may have been - 165-170? crazy. they were easily able to remove the piece from the block, so i'll be back at it tomorrow. they recaliberated my wrench, but it still sux - at least it's accurate at 110# now tho. Thus, my recommendation is don't buy Performace Tools Torque Wrenches. :( Oh well. I think these bolts are reusable, and they were prepped properly - the machinist told me to use 30W oil on the threads. Last night everything went well - i had torqued them all down to what i thought was 110# so that i could plastigauge my oil clearance, and it worked fine. apparently that one bolt was stressed in the process. oh well.
     
  7. theperfectgarage

    theperfectgarage 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    988
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    tucson arizona
    Sorry to here about that little mishap, and yeah don't cheap on torque wrenches, even though your not a pro, when your needin a torque wrench your doing a pro's job.
    Don't forget to put oil under the head of the bolt when you lube the threads, friction there too. Best luck.:laugh:
     
  8. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,549
    Likes Received:
    543
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    #1 rule with the tourqe wrench is park it back at the bottom when done or it will eat up the acurecy over time.

    #2 get them checked and calibrated every year for average use.
     
  9. colbystephens

    colbystephens 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    10,924
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Oregon
    well, i always to unwind the wrench after use. while mine was purchased in the last few months, i was able to trade that one for another one at the shop, which the machine shop checked. turns out, the one brand new out of the box was very innaccurate too - it just happens that i bought a piece of crap. :( bummer.
     
  10. ProJunkRacing

    ProJunkRacing 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FrankFort IL
    that is a very important tool alway check accuracy of that puppy
     
  11. mudjunkie 82

    mudjunkie 82 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Posts:
    11,449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    for the extra loot ARP main studs are the way to go..........
     

Share This Page