Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Very weird ignition problem, running rich? I'm stumped

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Blaze, Mar 28, 2004.

  1. Blaze

    Blaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2000
    Posts:
    3,285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Very weird ignition problem, running rich? I\'m stumped

    I just installed my headers on my 92 Yukon today. I ran a set of Pacesetter shorties on it. My exhaust system was rusted off, so I had to yank that, so I'm running open headers till I can get to the muffler shop and have them bend up my duals. I got them all installed and then drove around the block (less than a mile) and when I got home one of the tubes had already blistered, but none of the others. When I revved up the truck, it would backfire from that bank and not the other. I know the wires are right and the plugs are good, I checked them. Anyone have any ideas?
     
  2. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Re: Very weird ignition problem, running rich? I\'m stumped

    How short are they? You should have a little pipe on them I'm sure. I ran open headers on my 76 Chevelle and shot flames out of them sometimes. I couldn't explain the theory behind it, but you need some more pipe on there. /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  3. bryguy00b

    bryguy00b 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Posts:
    5,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, N.Y
    Re: Very weird ignition problem, running rich? I\'m stumped

    i would think you would need more back presure or something..
     
  4. bigburban383

    bigburban383 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan, Royal Oak
    Re: Very weird ignition problem, running rich? I\'m stumped

    You've got the oxygen sensor hooked up right?
     
  5. Blaze

    Blaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2000
    Posts:
    3,285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    Re: Very weird ignition problem, running rich? I\'m stumped

    Hmmm, I seem to have forgotten to reinstall the O2 sensor. /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif

    I'm gonna run an O2 sim so I won't have to worry about that little bastard anymore. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  6. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    Re: Very weird ignition problem, running rich? I\'m stumped

    Why would you want to run a 02 simulator /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif
    The computer needs input from the 02 to set fuel to air ratio. Without it you will always be running rich even with a 02 sim it wont give the right readings. Your rig will run better with a 02 sensor. To run without one you would need to get a chip burned to ignore the 02 readings.If the ECM detects no readings from the 02 it will go into bypass mode.
    When in bypass you loose power and suck gas because it defaults to a over rich mode.
    Most people just use 02 Sims in newer rigs with 02s before and after the cat. You put in a 02 sim to get rid of the rear 02 sensor so you can get rid of the Cat. That way the ECM wont light the CEL. But you still keep the front one so the ECM can control A/F ratio.
     
  7. 4xcrazy

    4xcrazy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Posts:
    9,471
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Olympia/Lacey, Washington
    Re: Very weird ignition problem, running rich? I\'m stumped

    exactamundo /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     

Share This Page