Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

vibration from drivetrain

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by gator688, Feb 20, 2007.

1. gator688

gator688 Registered Member

Okay so I talked to the guy who installed my lift today and he said that the vibration that I get from around 10 mph to 45 mph could be caused by the driveshaft needing to be lengthened. Anyone with 6" lift know anything about this or is the guy just trying to get me to give one of his buddies that builds driveshafts somework. I personnely feel that he just didnt get the angles right but I am new to this and only know what I have learned on the TV shows everyone loves to put down. Not to many people have lifted trucks around me except for those pretty street trucks that never even see a dirt road and they dont count.

Help, Im new, Im new, I dont know what to do!!!!!!!!

2. bbck5on37s

bbck5on37s 1/2 ton status

I no they are a little expencive but.....A CV shaft. Have one made they work great

3. 1977k5

1977k5 3/4 ton status Vendor

If you have a slip yoke t-case (208 or 241) he could be right.

4. ssped

ssped 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

from the pic it is an 80's Blazer? would be a slip yolk NP208 tcase. I had to drop the tcase a few inches and add a 6deg on the rear 10b to get rid of the vibration. length is not causing the Vib but she might need to be longer just so she is not sticking out to far on the tail shaft. Also with 6" you will have to add a spacer or lengthen the front drive line and clearance it as well so she will not bind.

The vib should be pinion angle. Do a search for more info.

5. 87'k5boggin

87'k5boggin Registered Member

i have the same vibe on my 87' with a 6'' lift and 36's, i have about a 6 degree shim on the axle and it only gets a vibe at 40-45, then past that its smooth.

6. Leper