Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

VIN ID for 72 K-5

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by K5Willie, Nov 26, 2001.

1. K5Willie

K5Willie Registered Member

Hey I'm a newbie here! I just bought a "72" K-5 back in August. I say "72" because I'm not sure of the year. The VIN plate on the driver's side door jamb indicates that the truck is a 1972 (I decoded it using an LMC parts catalog) but all other features point to 69-70 (grill, rearview mirrors, marker lights, badges, etc) I believe that someone has repleced the VIN plate at some point for an unknown reason (stolen possibly??) Anyway, is there anywhere else on the truck that I can find the VIN stamped like on the frame or body? The engine, tranny and transfer case are all replacements. HELP! I need to know! Also what is the gear pattern for NP 203 transfer cases? This truck has one and I can't figure it out!

2. bouncytruck

bouncytruck 1/2 ton status

I don't know on the VIN but I've been having problems with the shift pattern on my NP203. From what I was told, it should be (starting at the dash) Low Lock - Low-N-2HI-4Loc. This is for one with a Part Time Kit. Unfortunatly, My tranny is blown so I can't test the shift pattern out.

'69 K-5/350/TH350/35's & 6" Lift

3. arq

arq 1/2 ton status

you can also check the chassis number to see if it matches the tub. look over by the steering box for some numbers on the frame. wait, i dont' remember if it was driver or passanger side. but it;s at the hieght of the steering box on the frame.

they could of also replaced the front end on it...

ARQ.

offroad baja!!!
    72 4x4 CST Blazer
    71 4x4 CST Blazer
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/ArqDennis>My Pics</a>

4. Steve_Chin

Steve_Chin 1/2 ton status