Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

vin # post up

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by reeser, Dec 19, 2004.

  1. reeser

    reeser 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Posts:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hayden Lake, ID
    i need to borrow your vin #'s to time my 454. it's an 89 454 w/ factory tbi. the machine that runs all the diagnostics REQUIRES the vin number to be entered. so if you have a FACTORY truck w/ a FACTORY 454 TBI post up the vin and i'll be indebted greatly.
     
  2. chrisb420

    chrisb420 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Posts:
    652
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Binghamton, NY
    might have a vin that works

    would a vin from a 88 454 tbi work my dad has one in his 2wd dually and i think i have the vin # here somewhere but if not i could get him to email me it
     
  3. reeser

    reeser 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Posts:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hayden Lake, ID
    ttt

    i'll pass on the 88 stuff i want to be absolutely sure that it is right. thanks anyways
     
  4. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,539
    Likes Received:
    538
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    setting timing

    t.b.i timing is easy with a timing light . all you need to do is warm it up and then turn off motor then un plug the brown? wire that is a wether pack conector nere the fuel pump relay area and then fire up motor then check engine light will be on and set to spec. when done turn off plug wire back in and fire up .then clear the timing code stored in mem.
     
  5. reeser

    reeser 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Posts:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hayden Lake, ID
    well i need the vin's to check be able to run the scan, cause i think i'm having some sensor related timing issues currently. thanks for the info though!
     
  6. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,539
    Likes Received:
    538
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    what kind of scaner

    what kind of scaner are you using ? i use the snapon brick the one that has been around a long time. you can use generic setup and retreve codes . or you can vin enter and watch the choices like c or k body 2 or 4 and motor then trans. try this if it helps .
     
  7. Eric M.

    Eric M. 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Posts:
    2,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Sent PM
     
  8. reeser

    reeser 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Posts:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hayden Lake, ID
    eric
    thanks for the #

    sweet
    i don't know what scanner it is, it's a buddies and he said i need a vin before we started so that is where i'm at!
     

Share This Page