Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Voltmeter vs Ampmeter

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 1979jimmy350, Jan 17, 2006.

  1. 1979jimmy350

    1979jimmy350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    3,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ann Arbor Mi
    I am working on the wiring for my 74 and it has a amp meter in the gague cluster. the harness that i am using for the conversion is set up for a volt meter. where does a amp meter need to be wire to to work.
     
  2. 91BurbDude

    91BurbDude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I seem to remember back in H.S. my auto shop teacher said amp guages were fire hazards and that is why they were replaced with volt guages. That was back in 82 or 83. The memory is a little foggy though. I was a smoker of sorts back then:D :cool:
     
  3. 78Suburban

    78Suburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Posts:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    I posted on here about that in the past and the consensus is that you will burst into flame.. Napa can order an auto meter voltometer for around $20. When I get $20 I'll get them to order me one.
    thanks,
    James
     

Share This Page