Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

vortec Heads

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by MilpitasK5, Nov 4, 2002.

1. MilpitasK5

MilpitasK5 1/2 ton status

I've been having problems with my engine warming up and I finally got the chance to let some of the guys from this site see and hear it.
    It basically runs way too rich when it's cold and the RPMs are all over the place. As soon as it gets a little warmer, the idle goes up like normal.

Zakk and Iceman both say I have bad valve seals so I should just get some Vortec heads. They explained it to me but it was early in the morning and I'm a newbie to wrenching.

Any feed back on that would be greatly appreciated. What will this do for my engine and how much will the parts cost?

Thanks in advance! /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif

2. marv_springer

marv_springer 1/2 ton status

I run the Vortec heads..... I don't think there's a better buy for a small block head. /forums/images/graemlins/deal.gif

Marv

3. Shaggy

Shaggy 3/4 ton status

<font color="green"> Vortec heads are worth a significant power increase, 50hp over stock iron heads if memory serves. You'll need the heads, about $450 or so complete from GM, and an intake manifold that will bolt to them since the older style one will not work. </font color>

4. MilpitasK5

Does this do anything to smog?

That sounds good! /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

5. heavy4x4

heavy4x4 1/2 ton status

Additional question: Are any of the intake manifolds made for vortec heads equipped with the bolt pattern/bore for a tbi?
    Where do you suggest to get all of the part? Catalog like jegs or summit, or an engine shop?
    Sorry, not trying to hi-jack the post, just have questions that I think are relevant to the topic at hand.