Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

vortec tbi swap

Discussion in 'The Injection Section' started by boz42, Jun 14, 2006.

  1. boz42

    boz42 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Posts:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hopewell, Tn 38058
    i have a 94 1/2 ton truck w/ a 350. the engine is dead. i got a chance to buy a 99 model vortec engine, will i run into any problems converting it to tbi? tia
     
  2. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,539
    Likes Received:
    538
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    if its a old style vortec 5.7 and not the 4.8 / 5.3 / 6.0 stuff.

    basicly the same thing . just need a intake setup for tbi. or get 4 barrel intake and then tbi adaptor plate for it.
     
  3. boz42

    boz42 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Posts:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hopewell, Tn 38058
    no it is a 5.7 vortec & i already have the tbi from my 94 truck. i thought it would work, i just wanted to check before i laid the cash down. thanks, sweetk30
     
  4. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,539
    Likes Received:
    538
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    ya from what i have seen the swap over is fairly basic just a few diffrences.

    i know my edelbrock 4barrel air gap intake had the bypass hose kit to use with the vortec h20 pump.
     
  5. neverendingproject

    neverendingproject 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    You MUST get a new chip burned. This is where I got mine and he does good work.

    clicky
     
  6. boz42

    boz42 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Posts:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hopewell, Tn 38058

    i don't think u understand, i am buying a vortec long block, i want to put it in my 94 tbi truck. i want to know if the tbi stuff will bolt to the vortec blk. i am not trying to use any of the electronics or intake from the vortec.


    if i am wrong & u do understand, why would i need a chip??
     
  7. neverendingproject

    neverendingproject 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Posts:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    Using TBI to a vortec block is bolt on stuff, but if you want your truck to run even close to right, you need a new chip because the heads cause the computer to need different fuel and timing curves that cannot be set by adjusting fuel pressure or base timing.

    When you truck runs like a 2 stroke you will understand.
     
  8. Russell

    Russell LB7 Tahoe Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2000
    Posts:
    7,923
    Likes Received:
    333
    Location:
    Fort McMurray, Alberta
    You will need a Vortec TBI intake. The heads have a different runner pattern than the old heads, and an old non-Vortec TBI intake will NOT fit.

    However, I'd be surprised if you were not able to use the old Vortec intake throttle body with the older 7747 ECM. Just need to re-pin for a few of the new sensors etc
     
  9. boz42

    boz42 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Posts:
    3,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hopewell, Tn 38058
    thanks that is the info i was looking for.
     

Share This Page