Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Want another Blazer... Need advice pls...

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by AudieMurphy, Jun 24, 2005.

1. AudieMurphy

AudieMurphy Registered Member

Hello all!
    Im new to the forum so please go easy, its my first time. :D

I currently have a 1989 full size Bronco, 351W/C6/BW1356. Nice truck, and I just might keep it, if it wasnt for the TTB (Twin Traction Beam).

When I was shopping for a full size rig about 2 years ago, I didnt do proper research and got the above truck. Had I *known* it had TTB, and known exactly what TTB was, and the inherent problems with it, I would have keep going. I initially was looking for another Blazer when I found the Bko but couldnt find anything in decent shape, or affordable.

Ive grown tired of the steering problems, you guys have no idea how horiable this thing did in 2" of snow this past winter! I know it needs a lot of work on the front like ball joints and such, but none of the parts are wore out enough to replace. And if I put the money into it, its STILL A TTB!

I have a D44 solid to put under the front... But.... I have come to the conclusion that I dont have the time, money or energy to gut the TTB and hang the axle. I would just assume get a Blazer with leafs and do an inexpensive and easy mild (4") lift, and another benefit, Id be back in a CHEVY again!! :cool1:

So, heres where I am needing help...

I am in the research phase, will be a few months ($$$) before I can get a Blazer, but I dont want to make the mistake I did before, and buy without research.

From what I am reading, until I think 2000 or so, all the Blazers had a solid front axle hung by leafs... Correct?