Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Wantin to do an 8" susp, on 84' k-5. Little help please?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by **DONOTDELETE**, Mar 21, 2002.

Wantin to do an 8\" susp, on 84\' k-5. Little help please?

Im pretty new to the 4-wheelin lifestyle. I just got my Blazer for christmas and it is awesome, only thing is, my ride is stock, and I wanna do an 8 inch suspension lift on 40's (of course, I'll be doin some major fender trimmin too.) Can anyone tell me EVERYTHING, that I'm gonna need to get to do this lift, i wanna get it as cheap as possible too. Thanks very much for your help.

1. 55Willy

55Willy 3/4 ton status

Re: Wantin to do an 8\" susp, on 84\' k-5. Little help please?

for 40"s I'd be looking for some one ton running gear.
    Cheap 8" would be Genuine Suspension, or look at tuff country fronts and a flip 4" spring rear.
    Drivelines might need some work and make sure your tranny and t-case are solid

2. Pure Insanity

Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

Once you get above 6" it gets expensive. I have 6" suspension and a 3"body lift for a total of 9" and clear 38 Swampers. The kits themselves are a lot more. The stuff you need to get, like steering arm, new shafts ETC are about the same for 6 or 8". The ride is a bit softer on a 6" too.

3. Hossbaby50

Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

With 40" tires, you will need 1 ton running gear, and lower gearing that way you can spin those big meats in the mud. A good healthy motor helps too.

4. DesertDueler

DesertDueler 1/2 ton status

Do a 6" suspension lift and a 2" body lift to get you 8"s. 8" lifts give you crappy driveline angles. With a 6" lift you might get away with not having to extend driveshafts.