Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Warn Premium Hub PN#20990 on Factory 10 Bolt

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by irelands18, Dec 2, 2005.

  1. irelands18

    irelands18 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Euclid, Ohio
    I installed a set of Warn premium manual locking hubs on my 87 K5, with a factory 10 Bolt ( Now I know before you all jump all over me, I'm swapping in a Dana in the spring) but for now.... They wont lock into the axle, and from reading some forums I am sort of under the impression they wont work. Is this true??? If they will work, any Ideas as to why they wont lock in???? The dial rotates all the way as if they are!
     
  2. 89GMCSuburban

    89GMCSuburban 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Posts:
    3,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Thornton, CO
    How do you know it's the hubs fault? No reason they shouldn't operate correctly, pretty idiot proof on the install...

    I have a front 10 bolt...
     
  3. JIMs70K25

    JIMs70K25 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Posts:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    sounds like you left a part in that should have been removed. I have the same hubs on my 89, no problems.
     
  4. bigjbear

    bigjbear 1 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Posts:
    13,970
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Marietta GA
    I've got the Warn Premiums on my 10B, they work great.
     
  5. irelands18

    irelands18 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Euclid, Ohio
    I removed the entire automatic hub assembly, an installed them according to the instructions that came with them!
     
  6. roadnotca

    roadnotca 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Same here, 1985, slick as snot.
     
  7. dewster

    dewster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    corona ca >> austin,tx
    mine worked good

    are you sure you didn't forget to remove something? bad spline on something?
     
  8. roadnotca

    roadnotca 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Tranny in N, hubs first, then T-case?
     
  9. az-k5

    az-k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Posts:
    2,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix AZ
    Some auto hubs have a dual stub snap ring set up. Might check that.
     
  10. JIMs70K25

    JIMs70K25 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Posts:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    I seem to remember there's a washer/spacer behind the hub that slips over the axle shaft and upto the spindle that needs to be removed.
     
  11. JIMs70K25

    JIMs70K25 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Posts:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chesapeake, VA
    or when you install the warn hubs you don't need to use the snap ring. I think it's a case by case basis.
     
  12. MTChevy

    MTChevy 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    7,141
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Great Falls, MT
    I had a problem... I had autos then i switched to warn hubs. I got the autos totally removed and when you looked in there you could see a clip on the stub shaft, a washer, then the huge nut. After fighting with it, all I had to do was remove the washer, put the clip back on, put the inner hub on, then the cap and i was set. Maybe thats what your problem is?
     

Share This Page