Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Water/Coolant Temp guage problem

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by chris672, Jun 12, 2002.

  1. chris672

    chris672 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Posts:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LODI, CA
    My guage was reading really low(about 100*) so I change the thermostat. It still read low so I grounded the wire from the sending unit and the guage pegged on the high side. That means the guage is ok, right? I change the sending unit and now the temp reads 260*+. What is wrong? Wrong sensor?
     
  2. chris672

    chris672 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Posts:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LODI, CA
    Anyone? Any help from the ASE guys? After reading a post the other day, I know that there are a least a few. Any help would be appreciated!!
    If I was to go with an after market guage, would it come with a sensor? Would it fit in the same hole as the one I have now?
     
  3. 70~K5

    70~K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,032
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sillycon valley
    Chris go with a mech. guage. /forums/images/icons/smile.gif
     
  4. jberg62

    jberg62 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Posts:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island,NY
    I'd do what 70~K5 suggested and swap in a mechanical gauge.
    Actually that's what I did do way back when I had a very similar type problem with my oil pressure gauge.
    I found that something had shorted on the printed circuit board at the rear of the instrument cluster and rendered the gauge in-op and useless.
    I bought a cheap (but quite effective) mechanical pressure gauge and fit it into the hole that the electrical one came out of. Yeah, I had to do a little finagling with a Dremel tool; but it was well worth it in the end.
    The gauge even came with it's own light and was the best looking gauge in my dash. I've gone digital since.

    [​IMG] Jim
    Cloud Ten Graphics *Artwork by Jim*
     
  5. 70~K5

    70~K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,032
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    sillycon valley
    Don't need to worry about the stock 1st gen oil pressure gauge, it's mechanical. /forums/images/icons/cool.gif
     
  6. jberg62

    jberg62 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Posts:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island,NY
    Yep, and I'll bet you it works like a charm /forums/images/icons/wink.gif
     

Share This Page